Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The whole family enjoyed this one. I left out the almonds because of a nut allergy in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was great! I skipped the potatos and added cabbage instead. I also added 1 bay leaf for a bit more flavor. Next time I will add a few more spices just for our personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I really liked the soup. Thought the potatoes were out of place though. Next time I will make this minus the potatoes (less carbs anyway). I didn't put in the almonds, maybe next time I will try. I always add more spices when I cook as I do like things with more flavor add a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I made this for lunch and it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MFK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madawaska, Maine, USA
Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
aThis soup is amazing. The first time I made it I tried adding the almonds, but I over cooked them in the Oven. So the second time, I did not think twice about the almonds because it came out wonderfully. I did not change much of the ingredients. I seasoned my chicken with some kosher salt and black pepper and boiled my chicken in about 5 cups of water 1 and 3/4 cups of broth. The only other change is that I cooked my onions in some hot peppers as I like spicy food. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Made this just as directed except I used pearl barley since that is what we had. Cooked the barley separately and added it. An extra step, but worth it. I love the flavors and textures in this soup. I shredded the chicken, which I prefer over diced. Also, sadly, I forgot to add the almonds. Didn't even remember to toast them. It was still delicious. My 16 month and (almost) 3 year old loved this as well as my husband and me. A nice change from the regular chicken noodle, however yummy that is. Just a note on portions - this is quite filling. I halved it and we have enough to eat it for dinner again tomorrow night (but likely we'll have it for lunch tomorrow). So, easily a healthy 6 servings halved. I can't imagine the amount you'd make if it was the full 12 servings. Thanks for recipe! It's been sitting in my recipe box for a while now and finally got around to trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowderfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
great comfort food! made wonderful lunches all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I'm a huge barley fan and I was looking for a healthy get-well soup and this fit the bill perfectly. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aynie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I didn't have mushrooms or barley, so I substituted small noodles. Everything else I followed exactly, and it was delicious! The toasted almonds seemed strange, but they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made some changes to this recipe...cut down on the potatoes, added red and orange bell peppers, used fresh basil and cilantro instead of parsley, and left out the butter. The result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States