Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I added extra celery and carrots and replaced some liquid with a bottle of pinot grigio. Quite tasty. Also, I used pearled barley and cooked it in chicken broth and dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eshusker
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
great hearty soup that is a nice option to Beef. I did add a few more spices that some suggested and it was was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is my favorite chicken soup recipe...I made this exact recipe for my grandmother and she LOVED it so much! It is perfect as is, but in other variations when I've run out of chicken broth, I used beef bouillon cubes or beef broth to supplement and it was great! Enjoy :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haaseblume

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very good and filling. Makes a lot and is perfect for leftovers or freezing. Does taste a lot like chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Ok. Not sure what was off for me. I do know that 1/2 cup instead of 1 whole cup of the slivered almonds is plenty. And if you don't have any, or are hesitant to add them, don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Unbelievably delicious!!!! My new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
very good. You don't need seasonings except salt. I used kale instead of carrots and added dumplings too, after blending half of it. It really is like a chicken noodle soup, but barley instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This turned out really good. I didn't add potatoes almonds or parsley. instead added frozen squash, majoram, fresh spinach, and basil. Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This soup is amazing. The complexity of the flavors is a real treat and this dish is so filling. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I just finished making this soup and I think it's great! I used no-sodium chicken broth so had to add a bit more salt. I also sprinkled dried rosemary and sea salt to the chicken and baked it before adding to the soup, gave it a nice flavour. I LOVE the toasted almonds, it's so different and is really crunchy. I used flat Italian parsley, and added a small zucchini and some kale along with the other vegetables. I will definitely make this again but will try with a homemade chicken stock rather than store bought and probably won't add butter as I don't think it altered the flavour or texture at all. Really great on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States