Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Just made this great dish for lunch to use up some barley I had in the pantry. I substituted butternut squash for the mushrooms, added some spices (oregano, thyme, and basil), and just threw it together without measuring. Turned out to be a perfect meal for a cold snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Increasing the barley is no problem. Adding a little rosemary is fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
kinda bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I altered this recipe to suit my taste. I eliminated the almonds, mushrooms and butter. Added 1 more onion and Adobo seasoning. Throwing all this in to the crockpot made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hot Cookin' Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Great comfort soup!! Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the silvered almonds, forgot to buy them and I don't think that mattered because everyone loved the soup. I did have to add extra broth the next day because the barley soaked up the liquid but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a family favorite for us. It is healthy and the crutch of the almonds adds so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made and served this today. However, I substituted the chicken with turkey breast and the quick cook barley (because I couldn't find any) with Kasmati rice. Plus I added a bit more garlic and used the lower salt variety of chicken broth. It was DELICIOUS and filling!! And since I made enough for at least 3 more meals, my hubby and I will be able to enjoy the soup again within the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I added extra celery and carrots and replaced some liquid with a bottle of pinot grigio. Quite tasty. Also, I used pearled barley and cooked it in chicken broth and dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eshusker
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
great hearty soup that is a nice option to Beef. I did add a few more spices that some suggested and it was was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is my favorite chicken soup recipe...I made this exact recipe for my grandmother and she LOVED it so much! It is perfect as is, but in other variations when I've run out of chicken broth, I used beef bouillon cubes or beef broth to supplement and it was great! Enjoy :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haaseblume

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States