Chicken Valdostano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2000
simple and a lovely dish to serve company. We all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
My husband and children really enjoyed this dish. It was SO tasty and reminded me of something we would have been served in a restaurant. The sauce is very flavorful and it really strengthens the flavor the longer you reduce it. Did use fontina cheese, but not the prosciutto, just used sliced smoked ham. I did have to add some cooking time to the chicken, I added the chicken back in while reducing the sauce. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This was a very tasty dish! The combination of the prisciutto ham and fontina cheese sets this apart from the average chicken dinner. I've never tried fontina cheese before this and my husband and I both LOVE it! The only adjustment I had to make was to cook the chicken longer than the recommended 2 minutes on each side. I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I have been in this chicken/proscuitto phase for two days now because I had a huge package of proscuitto from Sams Club to use up. I love this combination and liked the addition of mushrooms. After reading the reviews, I used low-sodium chicken broth. That helped a little bit but still a tad salty. I also put the lid on the skillet to help with the cheese melting. Topped with a little bit of ground sage to add color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2000
Delicius change of pace for chicken. And great for a quick get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
Very good. A little salty with the fontina and proscuitto, but if you don't mind things a little on the salty side, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
I made this dish for company and we all loved it. It wasn't exactly easy to prepare, but the end results were very tasty! Will definitely make again for a dinner party, but it is too much work to eat often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
this dish was delicious. I have had it before at a restaurant i go to often. But i have to say i made it better! I served it over linguine for guests and they loved it. The only thing i was disappointed abut was the presentation. next time i'll add spinach for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This was amazing. Not only does this taste delicious, but looks like a meal fit for company. Didn't have fontina cheese, so used fresh mozzarella instead. Can not wait to try this one again...probably next time the in-laws come for dinner. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
we really liked this a lot, and will definately make it again. I did make a few tiny changes. I added a little olive oil to the butter when cooking the chicken to keep the butter from burning. After browning the chicken, I put it in a pan in the oven at 350 for awhile because I didnt feel 2 mins a side was enough and I was prepping the sauce, etc. I had pancetta and no prosciutto, so I cooked that up and crumbled it on top of the cheese, and cooked the mushrooms a little while longer until almost all the liquid was gone. (the mushrooms were awesome!) This is a salty dish, I had to catch my husband before he just did his usual shake of salt without tasting. My kids loved it, without the mushrooms. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States