Chicken Valdostano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
This was VERY tasty. I used low-fat margarine; omitted mushrooms; added chopped basil and used provolone. This is just as good as any chicken dish from an Italian restaurant. If my too-picky husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Been looking for a recipe like this. Was intoduced to Fontina cheese in a hi-end Italian restaurant. This is an almost exact replica. Only thing I added was a dash of lemon juice. Fabulous. Had Ceasar salad and garlic mashed potatos with it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I LOVE fontina cheese and this recipe uses it perfectly. This was fantastic, but next time I would probably only use 1/2 tsp. of the white pepper, it was a little too strong. Thanks for a "keeper" that I will definately be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Rich and delicious with an impressive presentation. But then it's hard to go wrong when you're working with perfect, luscious ingredients and proper method of cooking (although I cooked my chicken in half butter, half olive oil, at medium-high heat, not low!) Using the best ingredients is key to getting the best results - no skimping! Use a good wine, the same you'd drink. Prosciutto di Parma if your budget allows and the very best fontina cheese. Also, being careful not to overcook the chicken results in its being fork tender. Lovely dish - I served it with a rainbow angel hair pasta, and haricots verts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
we really liked this a lot, and will definately make it again. I did make a few tiny changes. I added a little olive oil to the butter when cooking the chicken to keep the butter from burning. After browning the chicken, I put it in a pan in the oven at 350 for awhile because I didnt feel 2 mins a side was enough and I was prepping the sauce, etc. I had pancetta and no prosciutto, so I cooked that up and crumbled it on top of the cheese, and cooked the mushrooms a little while longer until almost all the liquid was gone. (the mushrooms were awesome!) This is a salty dish, I had to catch my husband before he just did his usual shake of salt without tasting. My kids loved it, without the mushrooms. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Easy to prepare and great flavor. I didn't have the fontina so I used mozzarella. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This was amazing. Not only does this taste delicious, but looks like a meal fit for company. Didn't have fontina cheese, so used fresh mozzarella instead. Can not wait to try this one again...probably next time the in-laws come for dinner. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Fantastic. I pounded my chicken flat and cooked about 4 minutes on each side. To the flour coating, I added a little garlic, paprika and black pepper. I only used a tablespoon of butter and a little bit of olive oil for the sauce, and at the end mixed in a bit of cornstarch to thicken. I served this with balsamic tomatoes with feta, fresh sauteed asparagus and a caesar salad. I will absolutely make this recipe again. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
My husband LOVED this dinner. It was very easy to follow and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
My husband and children really enjoyed this dish. It was SO tasty and reminded me of something we would have been served in a restaurant. The sauce is very flavorful and it really strengthens the flavor the longer you reduce it. Did use fontina cheese, but not the prosciutto, just used sliced smoked ham. I did have to add some cooking time to the chicken, I added the chicken back in while reducing the sauce. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States