Chicken Valdostano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Wow! I have a hard time buying chicken because it is so bland but this recipe rocks! Its definititey got some bite and pungency to it so its not for the faint-hearted (or those who like bland things :)) Next time I would definitely double the amount of ingredients for the mushrooom sauce. I could have used more of that stuff. I omitted the parsley and it turned out fine. Use a good dry wine (only one you would risk serving to guests), trust me, this makes a difference. I used homemade chicken stock (try it some time, way better) and gluten-free flour (worked perfectly). For those of you who are sensitive to gluten, use it in this recipe and you won't be left out! This is a good recipe to impress friends, parents, special people etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Natomas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Yummy. Next time I would like to double the mushroom sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I thought that this was FANTASTIC!! I did make a few changes, however. When done frying the chicken I put it in a warm oven to keep it toasty. Then, I sauteed broccoli, baby bellas, and 1 clove of garlic in the remaining butter/oil. After two minutes, I added about 3/4 c chicken stock and let that cook off, until the broccoli was tender-crisp. I put the prosciutto and cheese atop the chicken in the oven until the cheese was melted and then I served it and the veggie saute over penne pasta with some extra fontina and parmesan sprinkled in. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Quick, easy, not *too* expensive, but absolutely outstanding. The flavors complimented each other perfectly. Apart from using a couple of grinds of black pepper, I followed the recipe exactly. I can't think of any ways to improve it apart from perhaps popping it under the broiler for a couple of mins to brown the cheese a little. I wouldn't hesitate to make this again. Thank you so much, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
my favorite recipe i have found on this site so far!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly and it was delicious! I served it when I had company over and they want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
So delicious. I made this tonight and actually had seconds. I did top it with a little of Emeril's Roasted Gahlic Tomato Sauce and a dash of Balsamic vinegar. Just layers of goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I LOVE fontina cheese and this recipe uses it perfectly. This was fantastic, but next time I would probably only use 1/2 tsp. of the white pepper, it was a little too strong. Thanks for a "keeper" that I will definately be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was just ok. Easy to make and tasty enough but not incredibly special. Probably won't make again but it was nice to try once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Been looking for a recipe like this. Was intoduced to Fontina cheese in a hi-end Italian restaurant. This is an almost exact replica. Only thing I added was a dash of lemon juice. Fabulous. Had Ceasar salad and garlic mashed potatos with it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States