Chicken Unitarian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as I always do the first time I try any NEW recipe. I did marinate the chicken in the sauce for about an hour before I put it in the oven. The chicken just melted in your mouth and was very tasty. My husband wants this dish again and so do I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
WOW. Made this for a party of about 60 people or so. The marinade I made just as written, but I used boneless skinless chicken thighs instead of breasts. It was a huge hit with my guests. They cooked for way longer than an hour and half though, and I didn't turn them over at the 1-hour mark. Hey--6 pans and 55 pieces--that was a TON!!! Oh, upping the recipe for that much made way more marinade than I needed, so I froze what was left for future use. GREAT recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
The chicken came out great! I did, however; take the advice of another reviewer and marinated the chicken in the sauce for a while before cooking it. Still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this with a couple modifications. I used red wine because it was all I had, I replaced vegetable oil with Canola because it is better for you, and I used low sodium soy sauce. Also I used boneless skinless chicken thighs because it was all I had. It came out SO good. My family ate all of it up and that never happens! After we took the chicken out I added some corn starch to the left over sauce to thicken it a bit and pour over the chicken and the rice we had with it. So good! Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Ok, I NEVER review or remark, but this dish has prompted me to do just that! I followed the directions to the letter (save substituting Olive Oil for regular vegetable). The results: exquisite. No knife needed, so tender and flavorful. What a simple, easy, and delicious recipe. Thank-you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary Cummings Pincus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made this as it, except I used low sodium soy sauce. (I also used Canola oil but I honestly don't consider that a "change.") It was pretty good, but there were a couple of issues. Perhaps a bit too much vinegar. Mine was also done in under an hour and I just can't see cooking it 1.5 hours, and I also don't think 165 degrees is high enough for chicken. It's pretty liquidy in the oven as well, I suspect cause the lid's on. (The up side of that is the chicken staying moist.) So I did attempt to thicken that up in a pan after. Tried this with rice and I don't think it matches very well.. oh well. And it didn't reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I liked this recipe and did very little to change it. I did use low sodium soy sauce and there was no issue with it being too salty. My chicken was done in only one hour though and had I left it in the full time suggested it would have been like eating rubber bands so adjust your cook time accordingly! Next time I will thicken the sauce into a gravy for serving. I served it over egg noodles and would make this again with the above mentioned changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Really easy and incredibly satisfying. Tender, if you marinate it first. Lots of au jus to play with afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Naramore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Like others I used chicken thighs and sauteed on the stove. I chopped the thighs and added onions, mushrooms and broccoli. We are trying to save money so that cut down on the amount of chicken I used. Next time I may add carrots as well. The sauce is tasty. I did not add corn starch like others did. The sauce thickened up on its own as I sauteed. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I cut down on the sauce by 1/3 added more ginger, and cooked this in a skillet with julienne carrots and fresh green beans. It was a big hit served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States