Chicken Unitarian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I modified it... I decided to try this recipe out as I liked all the ingredients, but I used chicken tenderloins and a saute pan to speed things up. This recipe has a VERY large amount of soy sauce - really salty - for those who prefer less salt, I would recommend 1/8 c of soy sauce is more than enough. Because the amount of liquid described was for baking, not sauteeing, I added cornstarch at the end to thicken the remaining juices into a sauce. Also, adding mushrooms is not a bad idea. Sounds like a lot of changes, I know, but I don't think the spirit of the recipe was changed. Everybody liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as I always do the first time I try any NEW recipe. I did marinate the chicken in the sauce for about an hour before I put it in the oven. The chicken just melted in your mouth and was very tasty. My husband wants this dish again and so do I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
The chicken came out great! I did, however; take the advice of another reviewer and marinated the chicken in the sauce for a while before cooking it. Still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Way tooooo much soy sauce! Otherwise it is an O.K. recipe. Not the best, anyways. Thanks, Monica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I changed a few things in this recipe by accident and I feel it turned out much better. First, I cut the amount of soy sauce in half because that was all I had left and it was definitely still salty enough. Half a cup would have been waaaaay too much. Second, I added turmeric instead of ginger because I didn't have ginger. I still really liked the flavor and not even sure what it would taste like with ginger. The big thing to save time was cooking it on the stove instead. First I slightly browned each side of the chicken breast in some oil in a pan that has a lid. Only a few minutes is fine. Then I added the sauce and covered and cooked on low for 25 minutes, turning once half way through. Last, after removing the chicken I added some cornstarch mixed in cold water to thicken the sauce. Never add cornstarch powder directly to hot sauce or it will clump together. Spoon the sauce over chicken. Still comes out tasty and moist in a quarter of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this with a couple modifications. I used red wine because it was all I had, I replaced vegetable oil with Canola because it is better for you, and I used low sodium soy sauce. Also I used boneless skinless chicken thighs because it was all I had. It came out SO good. My family ate all of it up and that never happens! After we took the chicken out I added some corn starch to the left over sauce to thicken it a bit and pour over the chicken and the rice we had with it. So good! Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I liked this recipe and did very little to change it. I did use low sodium soy sauce and there was no issue with it being too salty. My chicken was done in only one hour though and had I left it in the full time suggested it would have been like eating rubber bands so adjust your cook time accordingly! Next time I will thicken the sauce into a gravy for serving. I served it over egg noodles and would make this again with the above mentioned changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bub6958
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
The chicken came out very moist! I didn't change any of the ingredients, I just marinated for 3 hours prior to cooking. I used what was left of the juice and made gravy. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This recipe is so-so. The soy sauce is the predominate flavor (so a little boring) but when served hot, the chicken isn't too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Very unimpressed. I did everything the recipe said, but it was flavorless and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States