Chicken Unitarian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as I always do the first time I try any NEW recipe. I did marinate the chicken in the sauce for about an hour before I put it in the oven. The chicken just melted in your mouth and was very tasty. My husband wants this dish again and so do I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
WOW. Made this for a party of about 60 people or so. The marinade I made just as written, but I used boneless skinless chicken thighs instead of breasts. It was a huge hit with my guests. They cooked for way longer than an hour and half though, and I didn't turn them over at the 1-hour mark. Hey--6 pans and 55 pieces--that was a TON!!! Oh, upping the recipe for that much made way more marinade than I needed, so I froze what was left for future use. GREAT recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
The chicken came out great! I did, however; take the advice of another reviewer and marinated the chicken in the sauce for a while before cooking it. Still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this with a couple modifications. I used red wine because it was all I had, I replaced vegetable oil with Canola because it is better for you, and I used low sodium soy sauce. Also I used boneless skinless chicken thighs because it was all I had. It came out SO good. My family ate all of it up and that never happens! After we took the chicken out I added some corn starch to the left over sauce to thicken it a bit and pour over the chicken and the rice we had with it. So good! Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Ok, I NEVER review or remark, but this dish has prompted me to do just that! I followed the directions to the letter (save substituting Olive Oil for regular vegetable). The results: exquisite. No knife needed, so tender and flavorful. What a simple, easy, and delicious recipe. Thank-you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary Cummings Pincus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I liked this recipe and did very little to change it. I did use low sodium soy sauce and there was no issue with it being too salty. My chicken was done in only one hour though and had I left it in the full time suggested it would have been like eating rubber bands so adjust your cook time accordingly! Next time I will thicken the sauce into a gravy for serving. I served it over egg noodles and would make this again with the above mentioned changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Like others I used chicken thighs and sauteed on the stove. I chopped the thighs and added onions, mushrooms and broccoli. We are trying to save money so that cut down on the amount of chicken I used. Next time I may add carrots as well. The sauce is tasty. I did not add corn starch like others did. The sauce thickened up on its own as I sauteed. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made this as it, except I used low sodium soy sauce. (I also used Canola oil but I honestly don't consider that a "change.") It was pretty good, but there were a couple of issues. Perhaps a bit too much vinegar. Mine was also done in under an hour and I just can't see cooking it 1.5 hours, and I also don't think 165 degrees is high enough for chicken. It's pretty liquidy in the oven as well, I suspect cause the lid's on. (The up side of that is the chicken staying moist.) So I did attempt to thicken that up in a pan after. Tried this with rice and I don't think it matches very well.. oh well. And it didn't reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I cut down on the sauce by 1/3 added more ginger, and cooked this in a skillet with julienne carrots and fresh green beans. It was a big hit served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Really easy and incredibly satisfying. Tender, if you marinate it first. Lots of au jus to play with afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Naramore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States