Chicken Tortilla Soup in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Only made one adjustment used kidney beans with refried beans. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline Strasser
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I added a can of drained black beans to add color depth, and since I didn't have refried beans on hand, I substituted pinto beans and drained them. After tasting it before putting all ingredients to the crock pot, I decided to NOT add my can of green chilies (that I add to everything Mexican). The picante sauce gave it the kick I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Strasser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Love it! Added a few Frito scoops to top it off. Was not too spicy even my picky teen loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very good...it's rare that I cook a new recipe and my wife requests that I make it again as soon as it's gone. This one passed that test. I agree with others on cutting down to one can of refried beans and substituting some black beans. I used minced garlic instead of the powder. With a little extra thickening (happened naturally leaving leftovers in the fridge overnight) it was the right consistency to make a nice and tasty tortilla chip dip. I added some Tony Chachere's seasoning and it was a good match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
It was definitely missing something so I topped with it with cheese, tortilla chips and sour cream. It was better. I think rice would be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I made this recipe as is and thought it was good but for my tastes it needed a little more pizzazz. I kicked it up with more salt, oregano and a can of diced spicy ortega chili's which made it a winner. Then I had lime wedges and white corn tortilla chips for the garnish sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I cut up chicken breasts and put them in the slow cooker instead of cooking them on the stove. Saved lots of time. Even my husband liked it and he claims to not like refried beans. I ate mine without cheese and it was good. It would be good with tortilla chips dipped in or crumbled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Delicious! The refried beans made it perfectly thick. Used mild salsa and served with sour cream and shredded cheddar for a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This soup was awesome! I used one can of refried pinto beans and one can on refried black beans and followed the recipe exactly, besides that. I used frozen chicken breast, and I think I would prefer to use fresh, next time. I also think it would be better if the chicken is seasoned as it is sautéed. I also would have preferred a little more spice to the soup. With those few tweaks, this soup will be a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Herrin-Mart
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Had to give this one a 5. I did sub one can of black beans for a can of refried. It was a little in the spicy side for my 7 year old but added some sour cream to hers and she loved it! Anything I can get this kid to eat deserves a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States