Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is the BEST soup I've ever made! My husband And I ate it so fast, it was delicious! Only thing is, I would double or triple recipe. I wanted more leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
My family, full of picky eaters, gobbled this up. I wasn't thrilled with it (not my thing) but I loved how easy it was to make. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fgcosmi
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I did what the other reviewer said and boiled the chicken separate and then shredded it and added it to the broth after. I also added Spanish rice, jalapeño and garnished with avocado. I agree that you need more broth than what the recipe calls for. I had to cut mine with water to make it stretch. Other than that, it was a great soup and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
The only thing I added was cilantro. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Unfortunately it tastes just like it looks. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Made some changes. Added 1 can whole peeled tomatoes instead of salsa and 1 cup enchilada sauce. Made it so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I've been making this exact recipe for at least 7 years, and love it. I change the order, I'm sure others have done the same. I brown the chicken breasts in a Dutch oven in a little olive oil, red pepper flakes and garlic; add about a cup of water to pan, cover and poach for about 20 minutes. Shred the chicken when it's cool enough to touch. I discard the "juice" but do use the pot with good stuff stuck to the bottom, and add: olive oil, garlic, onion and cumin. Cook for about 5 minutes til onions are translucent. Then add the shredded chicken, broth, chili powder, lemon juice and salsa, and cook for 30 minutes. I add the corn for the last 5 minutes (use a bag of frozen roasted corn in you can find it). It's perfectly delicious, everyone asks for the recipe. I usually serve it with cornbread that has creamed corn, green chilis and cheddar cheese in it. No dessert necessary! Thank you Betty, for years of this great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAUKEE10
Home Town: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This recipe is wonderful! Rather than cook chicken as indicated, I boiled the chicken breasts and then shredded them as I prefer shredded meat to cubed in soups. I used the broth from the chicken cooking water and added "no sodium" bullion cubes. I cooked the garlic in the olive oil, then added the onion and the shredded chicken till warm, then stirred in the cumin. For the salsa, I used half mild salsa and half medium salsa. I did add black beans as well which gives the soup a little more substance. This is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was a very easy recipe and took very little time. When I make it in the future, I will add black beans and some cilantro. A dollop of sour cream would also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States