Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
The best chicken tortilla soup I have ever had. Placing the chips on the bottom before adding the soup, and that topping of sour cream, is what makes this soooo good. No soggy chips! Whole family loved it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Delicious! I omitted the cumin and chili powder, since my daughter does not react well to them and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Everyone enjoyed this soup. My 14 year old said, "This is the best soup I've ever had". I made it pretty true to the original recipe however I boiled the chicken breasts in some garlic and cumin and a little chicken bouillon instead of sauteing them. Then I cut them into chunks and sauted with garlic and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I only gave thus four stars because the chicken is best if you oook it in a crockpot all day and then shred it. It adds more flavor to the soup. I also added some hot peppers to spice it up and I think black beans are a must in tortilla soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly, however I found it to be a little bit bland. It was an excellent starting point, so the second time I made it I just got a little more "creative". I made it in my large slow cooker so decided to add a packet of low sodium taco seasoning and a large can of diced tomatoes. I also decided to add a little more corn and just tasted and worked with it until it was seasoned to taste. I also found that cooking the chicken ahead of time and shredding it before adding it to the soup was very helpful. Adding it already shredded caused it to absorb so much more of the overall flavor, and after cooking several hours in the slow cooker it was very tender. Like I said, it is a GREAT place to start, and from there you can really get creative and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Grove Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I've made this soup several times now and when I am pressed for time, I pick up and use the meat from a rotisserie chicken, throw all the ingredients in. I like to use fresh corn instead of canned and a squeeze of real lime juice over the serving bowl. I will use tortilla chips crunched up and set out in a small bowl for people to use if they want to. Other small bowls contain the shredded cheese, green onions slices, sour cream, etc. I have taken this to my Spanish class and they all wanted the recipe. It may or may not be totally authentic, but it is tasty and filling. I really appreciate how easy it is to throw together. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is my favorite soup! I usually follow the exact recipe, though sometimes I add 1/2 cup cooked rice and/or black beans near the end of cook time for more texture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammies

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is my new favorite soup! I use a SW corn mix and leave out the onion/ peppers and add a can of drained black beans. Mmmmm!!! Cheese and chips are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was great! I made as the recipe stated except for adding some dark meat in addition to the chicken breasts just to make it meatier. I'll have to try some of the ideas from the reviews- like black beans and cilantro. The recipe is great as is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Add rice for a fuller soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States