Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe, but to really top it off, after you add the cheese put some finely shredded lettuce on top. It adds an extra texture and crutch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Like most people I felt that this recipe was helpful, but needed to be slightly revised. I boiled the chicken strips then shredded them. I also sautéed the garlic and onion in a little if the chicken broth so they would be soft. I also added black beans bc I like them. It turned out great. I ate until I couldn't handle anymore and I can't wait to have some for lunch tomorrow. Thank you for the recipe it will certainly be added to my list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I really love this recipe!! My husband and I both love things very spicy so I sliced up some jalapeño and Serrano peppers (with seeds) and threw them in. I also added a can of rotel diced tomatoes with chili peppers. Instead of cayanne I used chipolte chili powder. Amazing!! Instead of cooking and shredding chicken, I bought a rotisserie chicken from the food store which cut the time down. Doubled the recipe and froze what we didn't eat! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Very Very Tasty. It really hit the spot. I thought it was going to be too spicy, but it was right on the money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This tortilla soup was awesome! I made it in the crockpot very easily. I did add one green habanero to it to give it some kick. I also added a can of black beans. Topped it with colby/monteray jack, nachos and sour cream. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
On the video, at 1:58 it says to add 2 29 oz cans chicken broth. The recipe calls for 2 14. oz cans of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Good recipe. I followed NMR's review, added more broth and beans. Next time I think I'd add a bit of hot sauce to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Really good! I made it quick with chicken cut off a leftover roasted grocery chicken. Added a 21 oz can of Bush's Grillin' Beans - "Black Bean Fiesta" because I had no corn or black beans on hand. The Bush' beans had chipotle sause in it so I left out the salsa too. I put in everything else in the recipe: broth, sauted onions, spices etc. Like I said, really quick! Topped with fresh avacado chunks, grated cheddar, sour cream, and fresh cilantro. OMG heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This has become one of the go-to recipes in my kitchen for a quick and flavorful dinner. The recipe is delicious as written, but my personal "tweaks" include adding one can of drained great northern beans, substituting a can of fire-roasted, salsa style tomatoes in place of the salsa, and omitting the onions. Several reviewers have commented about the directions for cooking the chicken - I simply cooked it in the soup pot with the olive oil until done, then added the spices and remaining ingredients. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I have made this at least 10 times in the last year. Introduce it to anyone who will listen. Haven't had anyone not love it yet. Just fine as is. I often add more vegetables and a bit more salsa. ChiChi's Thick n' Chunky is the salsa I like to use. Medium for a kick, but still good with mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States