Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is a great recipe for the crock pot. I add everything to the crock pot and in about 4 hours it is perfect. I put the chicken breasts in without cutting them up and when tender shred it. It turns out awesome because the chicken absorbs all the goods flavors from the soup. I leave out the corn but add a cup of diced tomatoes. I like to garnish with cilantro, olives, and jalapenos and of course, cheese and sour cream. I serve it with quessadillas. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Shenefield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Made this tonight and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
The only difference was that I added can of black beans. This was so good and everyone ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was just bland. Chicken stock and salsa didn't really seem like a good combo, and all the other flavors were just covered up by an overpowering salty chicken stock flavor. The sweetness of the corn was nice, but wasn't near enough to bring all the flavors together. When serving adding tortilla chips that turned to mush, and cheese and sour cream that just melted into the soup giving it nothing but some extra calories, left this dish at 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Made this last night and my family loved it. I did add a can of drained black beans per the recommendation of others and used lime instead of lemon juice. The only recommendation my son made was to try to thicken the soup next time. I let it simmer to thicken up but it is still a broth soup and tortilla soup is usually thicker. But I've already been told I should make this again! Very easy to make, I used a crock pot and it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Followed it to the tee and we love it. Next time we will double up the portions to have more left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Good basic chick tortilla soup recipe. You can add and subtract as your taste buds wish. I didn't have any salsa on hand so I used a o14oz can of Mexican flavored chopped tomatoes. I also increased the cumin a bit and added the fresh cilantro as suggested by one of the other folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Connaghan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Tasty and easy to make. I shredded the chicken as suggested by others and used lime instead of lemon juice. The whole family loved this so will definitely make again except a larger portion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Good, simple & fast. I had all ingredients on hand which made it even easier. I followed NMR's review advice (shredded chicken, over 48 oz. of chicken broth, sauteed onion with the garlic and spices, add a can of drained & rinsed black beans & rice on the side) + adding some fresh chopped cilantro and it was a huge hit. I would've scored it higher but I feel like I made a mix of NMR's recipe and the original recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
easy snd tasty i added green pepper fir color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States