Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This recipe is wonderful! Rather than cook chicken as indicated, I boiled the chicken breasts and then shredded them as I prefer shredded meat to cubed in soups. I used the broth from the chicken cooking water and added "no sodium" bullion cubes. I cooked the garlic in the olive oil, then added the onion and the shredded chicken till warm, then stirred in the cumin. For the salsa, I used half mild salsa and half medium salsa. I did add black beans as well which gives the soup a little more substance. This is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was a very easy recipe and took very little time. When I make it in the future, I will add black beans and some cilantro. A dollop of sour cream would also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Tried this recipe and it was very good, easy and quick. Great to make for dinner. Although next time I won't put the tortilla chips in first because they were mushy. I like mine a bit crunchy so I add them as I eat the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Great recipe for Chicken Tortilla Soup...I did add an extra cup of water, frozen corn and some hominy...tossed it all in the slow cooker and BoddaBing it was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRILLINWITHGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
First time trying this it wasn't to bad. I think the salsa we got was a bit to spicy and the chicken needed a bit more pizzazz but once again I just made this real quick. I'd say this recipe is very efficient it just needs some tweaking on my part so I can get it to the taste I like but we'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
A bit too much liquid to be a good winter (which is really my main reason for making a soup each week, the cold weather) soup. I added rice, I would have added a can of black beans if I had it in my pantry. Next time I'll probably add fresh diced peppers as well. Some sliced avocado & sour cream on top help make it more flavorful and complete. Okay but not my fav chicken tortilla soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Size

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Excellent! Didn't change a thing and won't in the future (which is rare for me). Thank you Betty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I did the crockpot method- I put 2 frozen chicken breasts and I did not use oil. Since I was putting this in the crockpot I used half the called for chili powder and cumin. I did not have frozen corn, I used a can of black beans. I also added more chicken broth and salsa. I cooked on low 7 hours and the chicken shredded with a fork before serving. It was very good for a cold day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Added black beans & it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States