Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Good, simple & fast. I had all ingredients on hand which made it even easier. I followed NMR's review advice (shredded chicken, over 48 oz. of chicken broth, sauteed onion with the garlic and spices, add a can of drained & rinsed black beans & rice on the side) + adding some fresh chopped cilantro and it was a huge hit. I would've scored it higher but I feel like I made a mix of NMR's recipe and the original recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
easy snd tasty i added green pepper fir color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Favorite soup- super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I have made this several times. I cook the chicken in a crockpot overnight seasoned with pepper, garlic powder, and chili powder. Then I shred the chicken. I add 2 cans of green chili's drained and use lime instead of lemon. Garnished with chopped cilantro, green onions, light sour cream and tortilla chips. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Mike liked it. He'd never had Chicken Tortilla Soup before and thought it was different. He ate the whole bowl so that means I can make it again. Next time I need to cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Partida
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I boiled the chicken with garlic & salt. Shredded the chicken then proceeded to sauté the onions & garlic in a small pot first. I added chicken stock instead of broth. ( In my opinion, I think it's tastier than broth) then I added the cumin, (substituted the chili powder with ground red pepper cayenne powder) lemon juice & salsa. In another small pan, I roasted fresh corn kernels. Added that to my soup. It gives a smoky flavor which is great for this recipe. I also added drained black beans & a small can of diced green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Partida

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Whole family really liked this soup and it was super easy. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used rotisserie chicken and added a can of black beans. I would add a little more corn, and a touch more cumin and chili powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachaelsee
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I have a tried and true recipe that I use for tortilla soup but I didn't have all the ingredients to make it. So I went in search of another for ideas of how to change things up. SO GLAD I DID!! My family loved it! I did everything pretty much the same but I did use a little oregano. I also didn't have chicken broth so I had to use water and boullion cubes (not my favorite option but it was fine) - and I used 4 cups instead of what the recipe called for. As some other members suggested I added a can I black beans (drained and rinsed). The family loved the flavor and the fact that it was more hearty than my other recipe. Great recipe - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Delicious, Quick, & Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States