Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I just finished making this, following the directions exactly and it is absolutely delicious! I didn't have straight chicken broth so I used bouillon, and I also added a few slices of avocado on top. Fantastic recipe, just as good as a restaurants :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Super easy, and tastes great! I boiled my chicken breasts in some of the chicken broth, along with semi-creamed onions and garlic first (threw the olive oil in with that), pulled it, then added everything. My family lives it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is my go-to recipe. I make this at least once a month and my husband loves it. I stay pretty true to the directions, the only variation I make is stir frying the onions before they go into the soup so they're softer. I also add a can of black beans to give it a little more substance. But, I love how easy and absolutely delicious it is! A staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great recipe for a quick soup that tastes great. I plan to do this again with some variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is a very good and easy soup! I threw my chicken breasts in a pot with 3.5 cups of water and added 3 tsp. of chicken bullion (Better than Bullion brand). Then I added the onion, garlic, cumin, and salsa. Boiled and simmered it until the chicken was fully cooked. I removed the chicken and shredded it while the broth continued to cook down for a slightly thicker soup. Then I added the chicken back along with a can of black beans and the corn. When I make this again, I'll use 4.5 cups water (4 tsp. bullion) and 1.5 cups salsa just to have more of the "broth". I'm definitely adding this to my recipe box! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
really good , easy, I added red pepper, used rotisserie chicken, can of diced tomatoes, black beans, a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Both my husband and I loved this! Very easy. For the salsa i used canned fire roasted style diced tomatoes. I had frozen chicken and cooked it separately then added it when it was ready. I also had celery and cactus/nopal on hand so I added those. Topped with some cheese and avocado, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This soup was definitely a hit with my family. I only thing is the amount of chicken broth it suggests in the recipe is not enough! I had to add about 4 more cups . I also cooked the chicken differently and took the advice from another user and boiled and then shredded the chicken which IS perfect for this soup. I then sautéed the onion and minced garlic and then added the chicken and the seasonings and then everything else. I wasn't sure what salsa to use and I did up using pace lol. It came out amazing! The Monterrey jack cheese on top is wonderful. Another helpful tip I used tri color tortilla strips that I found where you can find croutons in your local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, except doubled the garlic and cumin to make it easier to mix in. I didn't find it hard to understand the process at all. Simple. Easy. Delicious. If you think chips in soup might be weird (like I did), I recommend giving it a try. You might love it--like I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! I had frozen chicken breasts so I just boiled them while I was cooking everything else, then I threw in the chicken at the end. Also, I like cream corn so much better than plan whole corn so I used a can of that. I also toasted my own corn tortillas in strips, but I've seen someone not even toast the strips and I guess it turned out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States