Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
great recipe. I poached my chicken in the broth/onion/garlic and spice mixture then removed the chicken and shredded it, added it back to the broth, then added one can of corn and one can of black beans. I also added the juice of two small limes and a can of Embasa salsa. I served it with greek yogurt (instead of sour cream) and tortilla chips. Would be great with avocado too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This chicken tortilla soup has a great flavor, but I do admit that I have to tweak it a bit for my liking. I prefer to use shredded chicken rather than cubes of chicken, for both texture and presentation. Also, I use 3 cans of chicken broth, a whole can of corn and add a can of black beans to make it heartier and last longer. Next time I might even try to put it in the blender for a few seconds to make it smoother and thicker. I leave out the cheese and sour cream because of a milk allergy, and instead top it with crushed tortilla chips and fresh avocado slices. A great dish for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
So yummy for a cold day in Texas! Especially since we're not that use to the cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I used all the ingredients listed in this recipe plus added a few of my own and it came out excellent. I first used a rotisserie chicken to save time and it offers much more flavor. I added a can of black beans;rinsed, a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies and a 1" wedge of Velveeta cheese and a little flour to thicken the soup. I cut up flour tortillas into 1" strips and deep fried them at medium high heat in a frying pan with just enough oil to cover them. they brown very quickly. Serve the strips over the soup and add a dollop of sour cream and guacamole and your in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Love this, I added cilantro and green chilles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was so yummy! I used half vegetable broth as I already had a carton of it open and then used chicken broth. I did add probably a cup or so more broth then needed and that was just perfect. Less would have not been enough in my opinion. For some reason it kind of reminded me of french onion soup (the flavor of the broth), maybe it was the onions and cheese. I just wish I had black beans just to make it that much healthier and filling. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Only thing I would do differently next time is to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe. I just put the uncooked chicken in a crock pot with all the other ingredients, and shred it towards the end. I also add a can of black beans, and put fresh cilantro on top. Mmm mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My daughter made this following the recipe and video and it was a great success! Our whole family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
As others suggested I shredded the chicken, added black beans, and substituted lime for lemon. I used 3 cans of Rotel diced tomatoes w/green chilies and 1/3 can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce instead of the salsa. Ladled over the (store bought) tortilla strips and garnished with shredded Mexican cheese, sliced black olives, chopped green onions, sliced avocado and sour cream. Great presentation and delicious taste. A real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States