Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
great recipe. I would probably add hot salsa to give it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Used a rotisserie chciken so I doubled the recipe. It was very bland at the end- I'm amazed it has SO many rave reviews. I added a can of rinsed black beans, a package of taco seasoning and some fresh cilantro at the end and it was so much better- 4 stars. It might earn that 5th star topped with chips sour cream and cheese. I was trying to keep it healthy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Made this recipe for a soup night with a large group of friends. I tripled the recipe and used twice as much chicken broth as the recipe called for. I boiled the chicken breasts in some chicken broth, then shredded the meat, before making the soup. I also substitued the lemon juice for fresh lime juice, increased the chili powder to twice the amount called for and put the salsa in the blender, so the soup wouldn't be so chunky. I used corn tortillas, cut them into small strips and fried them in some oil, this really made a difference in flavor for the garnish! I also topped the soup with some chopped green onions and shredded cheese- my friend's loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this yesterday with only a few minor changes, in trying to keep with the true essence of the recipe. Instead of cooking the two chicken breast I shredded half a rotisserie chicken using both the dark & white side. I did sautee the onion and garlic in olive oil separately and added them to the soup mixture. I increased the broth to a 48 oz. container and used a 10oz. can of mild Rotel tomates with green chiles for the salsa and added a 15 oz. can of well rinsed black beans. Additionally I mixed a tablespoon of cornstarch with two tablespoons of water and added it to the soup, just to thicken it up a bit. Lastly, I omitted the lemon juice from the soup but cut up a lime and avacado and served them on the side, along with the tortilla chips to be used as desired individually. I think this was one of the most flavorful soups I've ever made. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahsgrandma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Very good basic recipe. I used a quarter of a leftover rotisserie chicken, so I put in the leftover bones and chicken with the skin on in there and let it simmer for an hour. I also added a dollop or two of sour cream when the soup cooled down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Not the best chicken tortilla soup I've ever had. The broth was pretty thin. I think it is a bad idea to pre-cook the chicken because it just ends up tasting bland and the big chunks were awkward to eat. It would be much better to cook thigh pieces in the broth or add shredded rotisserie chicken. The big chunks didn't really work. Also, I think the amount of broth needs to be quadrupled. I found myself needing to add more water, salsa, and chicken bouillon to cover the ingredients. I have eaten most of it (not much other food around) but if I were to eat the rest of it, I would need to make more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This recipe is a great and simple recipe that can be altered to your tastes. I made the following changes and it came out great: First I boiled one large chicken breast and two leg quarters and I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper to create a broth.I let that boil until the chicken was cooked. I took the chicken out (saved the broth) and shredded the chicken, then followed the directions and added everything back to the broth that I created instead and added black beans. I also had leftover soft tortilla shells so I preheated the oven to 400, cut the shells into strips, placed the strips on a cookie sheet,brushed then with oilve oil and sprinkled them with garlic & onion powders and placed into the oven for 7-10 minutes. These are amazing and addicting, I added them to the soup and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
It's a good thing that I decided to double this because my mom said it was the best soup she'd ever had! I doubled the cumin to match the amount of chili powder. Since I'm not a big fan of chunks of peppers I pureed the salsa before adding it and I think it really helped distribute the flavors more evenly. Rather than browning the chicken I brought the broth, onion, garlic and spices to a boil and then added the chicken and let it simmer for a bit before adding everything else. This was so good I had to make another batch for company the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
it was awesome... my whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitfreak18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
As stated, a GREAT jumping-off point and a fantastic way to use up leftovers! I used 1-32 oz box chicken stock, leftover turkey thigh meat (several handfuls), 2 C frozen corn, a small red pepper and 1/4 sweet onion. I nixed the garlic and forgot the salsa, subbed lime juice for lemon, added a good soup-spoonful of sour cream and a nice heap of shredded Cheddar on top of that. The spices seemed weak (I did use more stock than the recipe called for), but there's another couple of servings left over and I'm adding the salsa before I mess with the spices. Oh, I did add some oregano. And...I made the whole thing in the microwave! Cooked the frozen corn with the red pepper, and cooked the onion after that. Then I just stirred everything into the broth and heated it all up. I also made chips in my toaster oven, from corn tortillas (hey, I said I was using leftovers!) and served them on the side. This is going into my file for sure! Thanks, Betty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States