Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
makes 4 very small servings. Definitely double. Increase garlic and spices and add 1 cup of black beans to make it more of a meal. Also add a jalapeno for more heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very, very good! Added a can of seasoned black beans (Bush beans), drained two hours into a 4 hrs high crock pot cook time. Added 4 corn tortillas cut into small pieces at the end to simmer and thicken. Then added some half and half until desired consistency. Put the homemade Lisa chips on top with a whole avocado. Salt and peppered individually to taste. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I thought this recipe was easy to follow. It did not take long. I added an avocado to the ingredient's and used my own homemade salsa. Will be making this again during the cold winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
great recipe. I would probably add hot salsa to give it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Used a rotisserie chciken so I doubled the recipe. It was very bland at the end- I'm amazed it has SO many rave reviews. I added a can of rinsed black beans, a package of taco seasoning and some fresh cilantro at the end and it was so much better- 4 stars. It might earn that 5th star topped with chips sour cream and cheese. I was trying to keep it healthy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Made this recipe for a soup night with a large group of friends. I tripled the recipe and used twice as much chicken broth as the recipe called for. I boiled the chicken breasts in some chicken broth, then shredded the meat, before making the soup. I also substitued the lemon juice for fresh lime juice, increased the chili powder to twice the amount called for and put the salsa in the blender, so the soup wouldn't be so chunky. I used corn tortillas, cut them into small strips and fried them in some oil, this really made a difference in flavor for the garnish! I also topped the soup with some chopped green onions and shredded cheese- my friend's loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this yesterday with only a few minor changes, in trying to keep with the true essence of the recipe. Instead of cooking the two chicken breast I shredded half a rotisserie chicken using both the dark & white side. I did sautee the onion and garlic in olive oil separately and added them to the soup mixture. I increased the broth to a 48 oz. container and used a 10oz. can of mild Rotel tomates with green chiles for the salsa and added a 15 oz. can of well rinsed black beans. Additionally I mixed a tablespoon of cornstarch with two tablespoons of water and added it to the soup, just to thicken it up a bit. Lastly, I omitted the lemon juice from the soup but cut up a lime and avacado and served them on the side, along with the tortilla chips to be used as desired individually. I think this was one of the most flavorful soups I've ever made. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahsgrandma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Very good basic recipe. I used a quarter of a leftover rotisserie chicken, so I put in the leftover bones and chicken with the skin on in there and let it simmer for an hour. I also added a dollop or two of sour cream when the soup cooled down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Not the best chicken tortilla soup I've ever had. The broth was pretty thin. I think it is a bad idea to pre-cook the chicken because it just ends up tasting bland and the big chunks were awkward to eat. It would be much better to cook thigh pieces in the broth or add shredded rotisserie chicken. The big chunks didn't really work. Also, I think the amount of broth needs to be quadrupled. I found myself needing to add more water, salsa, and chicken bouillon to cover the ingredients. I have eaten most of it (not much other food around) but if I were to eat the rest of it, I would need to make more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This recipe is a great and simple recipe that can be altered to your tastes. I made the following changes and it came out great: First I boiled one large chicken breast and two leg quarters and I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper to create a broth.I let that boil until the chicken was cooked. I took the chicken out (saved the broth) and shredded the chicken, then followed the directions and added everything back to the broth that I created instead and added black beans. I also had leftover soft tortilla shells so I preheated the oven to 400, cut the shells into strips, placed the strips on a cookie sheet,brushed then with oilve oil and sprinkled them with garlic & onion powders and placed into the oven for 7-10 minutes. These are amazing and addicting, I added them to the soup and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States