Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This tortilla soup was awesome! I made it in the crockpot very easily. I did add one green habanero to it to give it some kick. I also added a can of black beans. Topped it with colby/monteray jack, nachos and sour cream. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
On the video, at 1:58 it says to add 2 29 oz cans chicken broth. The recipe calls for 2 14. oz cans of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Good recipe. I followed NMR's review, added more broth and beans. Next time I think I'd add a bit of hot sauce to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Really good! I made it quick with chicken cut off a leftover roasted grocery chicken. Added a 21 oz can of Bush's Grillin' Beans - "Black Bean Fiesta" because I had no corn or black beans on hand. The Bush' beans had chipotle sause in it so I left out the salsa too. I put in everything else in the recipe: broth, sauted onions, spices etc. Like I said, really quick! Topped with fresh avacado chunks, grated cheddar, sour cream, and fresh cilantro. OMG heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This has become one of the go-to recipes in my kitchen for a quick and flavorful dinner. The recipe is delicious as written, but my personal "tweaks" include adding one can of drained great northern beans, substituting a can of fire-roasted, salsa style tomatoes in place of the salsa, and omitting the onions. Several reviewers have commented about the directions for cooking the chicken - I simply cooked it in the soup pot with the olive oil until done, then added the spices and remaining ingredients. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I have made this at least 10 times in the last year. Introduce it to anyone who will listen. Haven't had anyone not love it yet. Just fine as is. I often add more vegetables and a bit more salsa. ChiChi's Thick n' Chunky is the salsa I like to use. Medium for a kick, but still good with mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I did this one in a slow cooker, too. I threw it all together, put it on low for 6 hours, shredded the chicken and it was a fantastic soup!! It seemed a little thin for me... but I'm no soup lover, so all soups seem too thin, to me. So I added about a 1/2c of monterey jack and threw some chopped cilantro in, as well. Winner winner chicken dinner!! As a friend of mine said to me. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
The best chicken tortilla soup I have ever had. Placing the chips on the bottom before adding the soup, and that topping of sour cream, is what makes this soooo good. No soggy chips! Whole family loved it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Delicious! I omitted the cumin and chili powder, since my daughter does not react well to them and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Everyone enjoyed this soup. My 14 year old said, "This is the best soup I've ever had". I made it pretty true to the original recipe however I boiled the chicken breasts in some garlic and cumin and a little chicken bouillon instead of sauteing them. Then I cut them into chunks and sauted with garlic and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States