Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is a very good and easy soup! I threw my chicken breasts in a pot with 3.5 cups of water and added 3 tsp. of chicken bullion (Better than Bullion brand). Then I added the onion, garlic, cumin, and salsa. Boiled and simmered it until the chicken was fully cooked. I removed the chicken and shredded it while the broth continued to cook down for a slightly thicker soup. Then I added the chicken back along with a can of black beans and the corn. When I make this again, I'll use 4.5 cups water (4 tsp. bullion) and 1.5 cups salsa just to have more of the "broth". I'm definitely adding this to my recipe box! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
really good , easy, I added red pepper, used rotisserie chicken, can of diced tomatoes, black beans, a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Both my husband and I loved this! Very easy. For the salsa i used canned fire roasted style diced tomatoes. I had frozen chicken and cooked it separately then added it when it was ready. I also had celery and cactus/nopal on hand so I added those. Topped with some cheese and avocado, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This soup was definitely a hit with my family. I only thing is the amount of chicken broth it suggests in the recipe is not enough! I had to add about 4 more cups . I also cooked the chicken differently and took the advice from another user and boiled and then shredded the chicken which IS perfect for this soup. I then sautéed the onion and minced garlic and then added the chicken and the seasonings and then everything else. I wasn't sure what salsa to use and I did up using pace lol. It came out amazing! The Monterrey jack cheese on top is wonderful. Another helpful tip I used tri color tortilla strips that I found where you can find croutons in your local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, except doubled the garlic and cumin to make it easier to mix in. I didn't find it hard to understand the process at all. Simple. Easy. Delicious. If you think chips in soup might be weird (like I did), I recommend giving it a try. You might love it--like I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! I had frozen chicken breasts so I just boiled them while I was cooking everything else, then I threw in the chicken at the end. Also, I like cream corn so much better than plan whole corn so I used a can of that. I also toasted my own corn tortillas in strips, but I've seen someone not even toast the strips and I guess it turned out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great Basic Recipe. Good starting point but even better when enhanced. I used all the ingredients listed except the chili powder. I used one pack mild taco seasoning, 1/2 green pepper, 1 can rotel and 1 can of pinto beans to add more depth (plus my husband is from Texas so in our house you must always include pinto beans with any south of the border recipe). I also doubled the salsa. We served it with fritos scoops(on the side), sour cream and cheese. Was a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I only rate recipes I love and this is one of them. My hubby seeks out Tortilla Soup at restaurants and is never happy with the outcome. I happened to come across this recipe and now its a staple in our house. Its such a versatile recipe. I have made it by the directions exactly the first time and then the second I added more cumin, cayenne pepper and green chills. It made the recipe even better. I always boil my chicken, shred it and add it to the onions with garlic, celery and carrots. Then season them with the cumin chili powder and garlic powder. Then I add the broth green chills rice and corn, Thank you so much for an easy changeable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
YUMMY! It was so good and tasty! My family loved it a lot. I shredded my chicken instead of cubed, other than that I followed exactly and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I prepared mine in a slow cooker leaving the breasts whole. By the time it is done there is lots of shredded chicken. Once the chicken is shredded out it is more like a chili than a soup. I added cannelini beans this time. The last couple of times I made it I used pinto beans. My kids absolutely love this soup. I gave it five stars because I made it to our taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States