Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rachaelsee
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I have a tried and true recipe that I use for tortilla soup but I didn't have all the ingredients to make it. So I went in search of another for ideas of how to change things up. SO GLAD I DID!! My family loved it! I did everything pretty much the same but I did use a little oregano. I also didn't have chicken broth so I had to use water and boullion cubes (not my favorite option but it was fine) - and I used 4 cups instead of what the recipe called for. As some other members suggested I added a can I black beans (drained and rinsed). The family loved the flavor and the fact that it was more hearty than my other recipe. Great recipe - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Delicious, Quick, & Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
So freaking delicious. I followed all the directions and used the exact ingredients. I never add or remove ingredients on my first time making these recipes. It's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The can of salsa is the key and makes this sooo easy. I also use a store bought whole roasted chicken for this so it's more flavorful. Add avocado slices, a dollop of sour cream, cheese and tortillas strips and you've got an impressive, easy meal for guests. I usually make cornbread to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I just finished making this, following the directions exactly and it is absolutely delicious! I didn't have straight chicken broth so I used bouillon, and I also added a few slices of avocado on top. Fantastic recipe, just as good as a restaurants :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Super easy, and tastes great! I boiled my chicken breasts in some of the chicken broth, along with semi-creamed onions and garlic first (threw the olive oil in with that), pulled it, then added everything. My family lives it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is my go-to recipe. I make this at least once a month and my husband loves it. I stay pretty true to the directions, the only variation I make is stir frying the onions before they go into the soup so they're softer. I also add a can of black beans to give it a little more substance. But, I love how easy and absolutely delicious it is! A staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great recipe for a quick soup that tastes great. I plan to do this again with some variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is a very good and easy soup! I threw my chicken breasts in a pot with 3.5 cups of water and added 3 tsp. of chicken bullion (Better than Bullion brand). Then I added the onion, garlic, cumin, and salsa. Boiled and simmered it until the chicken was fully cooked. I removed the chicken and shredded it while the broth continued to cook down for a slightly thicker soup. Then I added the chicken back along with a can of black beans and the corn. When I make this again, I'll use 4.5 cups water (4 tsp. bullion) and 1.5 cups salsa just to have more of the "broth". I'm definitely adding this to my recipe box! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States