Chicken Tortilla Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This recipe was so quick and easy but didn't taste like it. It was just like the soup that is served at a local Mexican restaurant that my husband and I frequent. I was so fond of that soup that I have asked my daughter to consider working there part time just to get the recipe; now she is off the hook. I added a 4oz can of chopped chili peppers to spice it up, and since I like a more brothy soup, I will increase the broth, spices, and salsa the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
This was extremely easy and excellent. I scaled it to make 20 servings for a party and it was great. I used less cilantro and topped with mexican cheese. I also used store bought tortillas for ease. Definitely would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is a very easy recipe to make and very very flavorful. I highly recommend it to Tortilla soup lovers. To save time, use regular tortilla chips. As good and much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This recipe got rave reviews. I altered it a bit, by using leftover whole chicken, omitting the salsa, and topping it with avocado and Jack cheese. Yummy. This ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was okay, in my opinion. Instead of frying the tortilla strips, I buy plain tortilla chips and throw them in. I had to add more chili powder and omitted the corn (personal preference). It wasn't the best tortilla soup I've had, but it wasn't the worst. I'd make it again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
This was hearty and satisfying. I just had to add a bit more seasoning for my taste because I like things with a lot of zip. Overall, I enjoyed it very much and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Great recipe. Doesn't take long to cook. I use store-bought tortillas so that makes one less step. I used 1/2 the fresh cilantro, 1/2 the salsa amount the recipe calls for, and more chili powder. Serve garnished with chopped cilantro, plus either grated cheddar cheese or a TBSP of sour cream. Adjust spices accordingly for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
This is a tasty and quick recipe! It's great with some shredded mexican cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I loved this soup. Im always looking for new healthy and tasty recipes. I had given leftovers to my dad, he took it to work for lunch and let his coworkers try it and they loved it. They now want me to make a pot for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This recipe was awesome! It tasted better than the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States