Chicken Tortilla Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Excellent tortilla soup and very quick and easy to make. Used shredded chicken from a beer can chicken we made the night before. We had about 12oz of chicken left over so we used a bit more broth (3 14oz cans) and added a bit more chili powder and cumin. Also used a can of Rotel rather than salsa. Cut tortilla strips and sprayed w/ cooking spray and baked...still came out crispy w/out the fat and hassle of frying. Great recipe and takes absolutely no time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I am a firefighter and this recipe was extremely easy and everyone loved it. I cook for 9 people every shift and am always looking for meals that don't take much tim. I will definitely make this in the future. I used roasted red pepper salsa and green chilis to give it a bit of spice. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I also added a little can of green chilis...used an entire small jar of mild salsa, left out the oregano and cilantro cuz didn't have any and used 4 cups chicken broth and added a T. of red chili flakes - and it was still fantastic!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
The only thing I did differently was add a little can of mild green chiles to simmer--and it's fantastic! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was excellent! I substituted cayenne pepper for cumin (gave it a nice kick) and added 1/2 tsp. garlic. I used frozen corn and tortilla chips, like some other reviewers suggested. I also added a can of rotel. The only problem with this soup is that there wasn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This recipe is really good, just like in restaurants. My kids were apprehensive about the black beans and bell pepper from the salsa, but my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by incredibly incompetent

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I used this as a guideline, and added some cayenne. I used a whole jar of salsa, and it was great! My picky-eater boyfriend loved it, but wanted me to put more chicken in next time. He even ate some of the "veggies" without making a face!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was yummy,but I did change things up a bit. I used a rotissere chicken (already cooked) and tortilla chips as well as chicken stock instead of broth. (richer flavor) I doubled (at least) the spices and added fresh chopped tomato and chile peppers. Then I topped the soup with pepper jack cheese..It's really tastier the next day. I will make this again...super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl Next Door

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This was very tasty but I made some modifications including using an entire small jar of salsa, an additional cup of chicken broth, adding more spices (1 extra tbsp. each of cumin, chili powder and oregano), about a tsp. of chili seasoning and sauteed onion. I also used bagged tortilla chips. We loved it and I will make it like this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
So quick and easy I thought I might have missed a step. Tasted so good my picky son who doesn't eat anything other than beef loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States