Chicken Tortilla Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This one is one of my families favorites I do make a few changes now that I have been making it for so long. I cook the chicken breast or sometimes boneless skinless thighs, and grab two forks and shred the meat. I add 1 can of diced tomatoes 1 can of drained and rinced black beans, you can use pinto too, and 1 can of Mexican corn (not Hominy) with one small bottle of your favorite store bought chunky salsa and 2 tablespoon of lemon juice. I double the recipe so the whole thing works for me. After all that melds together nicely. When I go to serve it I put a handfull of tortilla chips at the bottom of the bowl push down slightly to crunch them up a bit and serve on top, garnish with Monterey jack cheese and a dollop of sour cream. It is soo good they'll come back for seconds. Sometimes I'll put the chicken in the slow cooker and when I come home from work I just have to shred it and add all the ingredients. It's my Go To when I'm short on time for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a-lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Rave reviews at my house! I made a couple of changes...used store bought blue corn chips (added two handfulls in with the veggies), sauted a chopped red onion and red pepper before adding spices (1 tsp oregano and 1.5 tsp cumin and chili powder **note more than doubled). Doubled the broth and boiled 2 frozen chicken breasts in it before shredding and adding back in. Used only 1/4 cup clilantro - freeze dried. Crumbled more chips on top. Would be awesome with cheese and I forgot to add lime juice as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
best soup I've made so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
One of my favorites on the site! I use quite a bit more salsa (I just keep adding until it tastes right... I like mine more tomato-y). I also use store bought chips. When I'm not feeling lazy I serve it with cheese quesadillas. It was the first thing I ever cooked for my boyfriend. He is not much a soup guy, but he loved this! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I love this coup! I add more chili powder and cumin, and use corn and black bean salsa. So easy and it's really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I've never rated anything on All Recipes, but I thought this recipe deserved my time. My husband, youngest daughter and I absolutely loved this! Hubby said it reminded him of a soup from the restaurant "Ground Round". One change that made it thicker and added great flavor was adding a can of pureed white beans (in food processor). I also put store bought tortilla chips in the pot right at the start and let it simmer until they dissolved into the soup. We used a spicy salsa, but you can use mild if you like. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Loved it, delicious added rice to make it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberzakk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
YUM! Quick and easy... I had chicken breasts that had been marinated and cooked previously. Did not want them to go to waste so made this soup using them. Doubled all ingredients except the corn and beans. Spices were perfect! A dollop of sour cream in the bowl when serving adds a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Very yummy. The only change I made was I added just a few diced green chilis. Maybe a 1/4 can. I topped with sour cream and monterey jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States