Chicken Tortilla Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
It has potential for a great quick meal but falls short on flavor. Made as written. I am sure if I tweaked the spices and simmered some onion and garlic with the them befor adding broth it would have definitely improved it. Maybe I will write my own recipe and share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Huge hit with the whole family! I also used the leftover can't-do-anything-with the chips at the bottom of the bag for this recipe. No worries about what kind of beans to use either; pink beans worked just fine. Corn bread on the side is nommy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Great soup - healthy, easy. I went a bit heavier on the chicken and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
simple delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I liked this recipe - I used a whole chicken and made my own stock then pulled the chicken off the bone and put it back in the stock with the veggies - yummy! - deeh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is quick, easy, and delicious. Topped with cheddar cheese and it tasted great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is the first time I've ever attempted a soup. It was quick, easy, and very tasty. My husband really enjoyed it, but the surprise was my son ate it! He doesn't eat any kind of bean, but he ate and liked this soup, black beans and all! Will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2busymom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tecumseh, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Great recipe! I baked my tortillas, though, and I threw all my ingredients into a crock pot because of time constraints. Turned out delicious! It is a mild recipe, so be sure to add some extra heat if you like a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Fast, simple & yummy, thanks! I used ground chicken b/c it was in the fridge and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJ2b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This one is one of my families favorites I do make a few changes now that I have been making it for so long. I cook the chicken breast or sometimes boneless skinless thighs, and grab two forks and shred the meat. I add 1 can of diced tomatoes 1 can of drained and rinced black beans, you can use pinto too, and 1 can of Mexican corn (not Hominy) with one small bottle of your favorite store bought chunky salsa and 2 tablespoon of lemon juice. I double the recipe so the whole thing works for me. After all that melds together nicely. When I go to serve it I put a handfull of tortilla chips at the bottom of the bowl push down slightly to crunch them up a bit and serve on top, garnish with Monterey jack cheese and a dollop of sour cream. It is soo good they'll come back for seconds. Sometimes I'll put the chicken in the slow cooker and when I come home from work I just have to shred it and add all the ingredients. It's my Go To when I'm short on time for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a-lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States