Chicken Tortilla Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I made this to use up some salsa. I liked the ingredients but it was just missing something. I like a little thicker broth so maybe I'd cook the salsa and broth longer or I'd add some sauteed onions. Good use of salsa, but I just wasn't as pleased as I'd like it to be. Maybe it'll have more flavor after it's in the fridge overnight. I followed the recipe to a T, unfortunately I doubled the recipe to use up all the salsa. Two teenagers in the house will take care of that though. I'd make it again, but I'll mess with the ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was very good. I didn't fry tortillas but made my own flour tortilla chips to serve on the side with guacamole. I sauteed a bit of onion and jalapeno pepper at the very beginning b/c I never cook without some onion. :) I had 2 cups shredded chicken to begin with so I had to use more broth. I also subbed Rotel for the salsa and added some cayenne pepper for some more kick. I also subbed an 11oz. can of corn with green and red peppers. This soup was very yummy and will be on permanent rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I did add a few things due to personal preference but this is a great recipe just as it is. I would suggest though that if you have frozen chicken, you can just boil it in the broth (don't put in the beans til the end) until it is shreddable, then shred it and proceed. I saw no particular reason to burden myself with the thawing and cubing step. (I actually picked that technique up from a recipe on one of those bagged-soup mixes, and loved it. Another tip I learned from the same bagged-soup mix is to crumble tortillas into your soup early on in the cooking process--it thickens it, but more importantly adds a tortilla flavor to the soup, and you can get away with using less tortilla!) Thanks for the recipe, we enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Awesome! Only thing I changed was I used a can of diced tomatoes with chilies instead of salsa since I didn't have any on hand and I didn't fry my own tortillas because I didn't want the extra calories. I used some jalepeno lime chips I had. I also added some frozen green chilies I had. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I really didn't care for this recipe much. The only changes I made (based on what was in my cabinet) was replacing dried oregano with basil and chili powder with chili seasoning. I had tortilla chips in the bag but they didn't enhance the soup much. I didn't use cilantro either because I don't like cilantro. I added a bit to one bowl just to see if it would make things better and it didn't. I forgot to rinse my black beans (but I did drain them) and my soup turned a little muddy looking. It just felt like it was missing something but I dont know what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I was looking for a great tortilla soup recipe and this is it. I used store bought tortilla strips the second time I made this and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
this was awesome soup. I did replace the chicken with leftover rotisserie chicken and I used frozen corn instead of canned. Left everything else the same, and it was perfect, so easy and quite filling. Will definitely make again. Cannot wait to eat leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! I couldn't believe how easy and yummy it was! I fried up the tortillas and this to me made all the difference. (There is a HUGE difference between tortilla chips and frying up tortillas!) I topped with fresh cilantro, avocado and sour cream! Super yummy! Thanks for the great recipe! I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
excellent! Very easy and very tasty. I added some crushed tortilla chips to the soup and let them simmer in for the last 15-20 minutes and they added a nice flavor as well as thickened the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I really like how the flavors came together so well in this soup. It was quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States