Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This does taste similar to McAlister's Chicken Tortilla Soup. It seems like it's asking for a little too much liquid though...maybe 1.5 or 2 cups less of broth/half-and-half would be better? I used hot salsa, and it gave it the right kick. I didn't even add cheese, and it came out pretty darn good. Will make again for chilly nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe rocks! There is nothing bland about this soup and we eat it by the truckloads in our house and every time I've served it for guests they are clamoring for the recipe! I say, Make it and You Be the Judge! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
We absolutely loved this! Served it for my sister and her family as well as our family ... makes plenty! Thanks for a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great soup! I made this for a soup supper fundraiser at church, and everyone went on and on about it. It's a definite keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
half and half was too heavy for me. next time I will use canned milk instead. tina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I made this soup just as the receipe calls for and it turned out excellent. And my very picky husband loves it! Will certainly be added to my favorite collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Awesome. Can play around with it to make it healthier - you don't really need the cream of chic soup. Use flour to thicken the soup instead if you need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Hmmm... I have mixed feelings about this recipe. On the one hand, I did enjoy the finished product, but I did make changes and will make more. Normally, that doesn't cause me to give a lower rating to a recipe, but without these changes, this soup was bland and not very appetizing to me. Next time I make it (and there will probably be a next time), I will substitute sour cream for some of the half and half. I will definitely cut back on the cumin and add a couple of chopped jalapenos to the onion and garlic. I'll add hot sauce, more garlic, a splash of lime juice. When I made this recipe exactly as stated, the finished product was a little sweet and bland for my taste. With the addition of more spices, hot sauce, and some lemon juice it was much better. I'll also replace the fajita seasoning with taco or enchilada seasoning -- the fajita seasoning gave it an odd sweet and smoky flavor. Some people would really love this the way it is, some wouldn't. All in all, I think it's a good recipe that can be reworked to suit anyone's individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Great soup! Very easy to make! I used a rotisserie chicken, thanks to some of the other reviews. I also cut the recipe in 1/2. Turned out great but a little on the salty side. Next time I will use the reduced sodium versions of the chicken broth and cream of chicken soup. instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is why I love this site- I can touch up a recipe based on others' comments! I followed the recipe pretty close, but I shredded a premade rotisserie chicken, used 2 cups half n half and 2 cups milk, and added 1/2 cup frozen corn. It was great, no problem with seasoning, plenty hearty and made a full pot- way more than 8 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States