Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I knew 2 things just from reading the recipe-- too much fat and not spicy enough for us, we love things kickin. This soup was so good with just a few mods for those who like things spicy and not quite so heavy. 1- Use 2% milk 2- Sautee onions and garlic in 1/2 TBPS olive oil instead of butter 3- Whisk in 1 TBSP flour to milk and broth before adding soup 4- INSTEAD of SALSA add 1/2 can HOT enchilada sauce 5- Add one diced jalapeno with the seeds and 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes for extra kick. I don't know what is normally in fajita mix- I make my own and it's what I used for this 2 TBSP chili powder 1 TBSP cumin 1 tsp oregano 3/4 tsp salt 1/2 tsp garlic powder This was sooo good. I think we will serve it for a football game this fall instead of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
We have been making this recipe for a few years now and we LOVE it. We use fat free half/half and you can not tell the difference (it was an accident the first time!) I just had to comment that this soup does not come out purple like my computer is showing the picture to be lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
if you are looking for a low fat food..move on, if you are looking for a crowd pleaser listen up! I have been cooking this soup for years. The only difference is I either use a leftover carcass and boil the meat off the bones or a rotisserie chicken and pull the meat off and put in a plastic bag with the fajita seasoning...Start everything on the stove as stated, also add extra cumin, salsa and cilatro and have an EXTRA fajita seasoning packet in case the chicken sucks it all up in the beginning. Once you have all the ingridients in throw it in the crock for a couple hours on high or 4 hours on low...FANTASTIC!! Never forget the cheese and chips at the end! PS, don't let this one boil EVER! you will lose the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
My friend gave me this recipe at work today, and said how good it was. My whole family loved it, and I used up my leftover turkey. Perfect! I was afraid to try it at first because the picture makes the soup look grey...the boys won't eat things that don't 'look right,' however mine came out more like the second photo posted, creamy, and cheesey in color. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waterville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This does taste similar to McAlister's Chicken Tortilla Soup. It seems like it's asking for a little too much liquid though...maybe 1.5 or 2 cups less of broth/half-and-half would be better? I used hot salsa, and it gave it the right kick. I didn't even add cheese, and it came out pretty darn good. Will make again for chilly nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe rocks! There is nothing bland about this soup and we eat it by the truckloads in our house and every time I've served it for guests they are clamoring for the recipe! I say, Make it and You Be the Judge! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
We absolutely loved this! Served it for my sister and her family as well as our family ... makes plenty! Thanks for a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great soup! I made this for a soup supper fundraiser at church, and everyone went on and on about it. It's a definite keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
half and half was too heavy for me. next time I will use canned milk instead. tina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States