Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Fantastic Soup! I serve this in my coffeehouse and get nothing but rave reviews from my customers! I dump all of the ingredients in a crock pot in the morning, turn it to medium and it's ready by lunch. The only thing I do differently is to whisk about 1 1/2 cups flour into the chicken broth. This gives it a little thicker consistency. I also use dried onions instead of fresh and a large can of chicken (saves alot of time!). Try it, it will be one of your favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHICO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
WOW I was disapointed. Not what I was looking for. I have been trying to find a recipe like the soup I get in resturants but this wasnt it. It was like corn chowder with chicken and spices. Very watery and a unappealing pinky color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
OMG!!!!! I can't say enough about this recipe. Every time I make it I get rave reviews and many requests for the recipe. I buy a rotisserie chicken from Costco, remove chicken in place of breasts) then boil the carcass along with the skin (to add additional flavor) then strain and use as the broth. I also use a couple cans of Rotel tomatoes with chiles in place of the salsa. You have to try this recipe. You will not regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This was not what I wanted. It was bland and tasteless. I had to add a ton of hot sauce to give it some spice at all. My 2 year old wouldn't eat it even before I added the hot sauce. My husband took one look and opted for a sandwich. I suppose I could adjust the spices, but really based on the fat content I don't think it is worth it. I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This soup was great! I doubled it, and used the meat from 2 whole chickens instead, and made my own broth. Adding tabasco gives it a good kick. Next time I think I'll saute some red peppers with the onions. If there are leftovers (if...) reduce the sauce, add some more chicken, and use as filling for enchiladas. add sauce and cheese on top. these were the best enchiladas i've ever tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was very flavorful and yummy! I used 2C. half & half and 2C. skim milk and it was still very creamy. Like other reveiwers I also put some of the cheese directly in the soup. Next time I may add black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Really good and easy. I confess that I was beginning to wonder as I combined the various ingredients (the creamed corn made me especially nervous), but it turned out to taste like what I'd expect from my favorite Mexican restaurant. My husband raved about it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Delicious recipe! I diced and cooked the chicken breasts with the onion mixture to save time. I pre-mixed 2 tbsp of cornstarch with the broth as a thickener instead of using flour. I substituted fat-free half and half and used only 2 cups. I also substituted a can of rotel for the salsa as suggested by another reviewer. I don't like creamed corn, so I used frozen corn instead. I garnished with the cheese, cilantro, sour cream, chips and diced avocado. Served with warmed, buttered flour tortillas. Yummy! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Mmmmmmmmmmm This soup is sooooo good! I'm so glad I stuck some in the freezer because I can't wait to eat it again! I used fat-free: broth, condensed soup and half-and-half and it turned out great, really cuts the calories down! I left out the cilantro & onion because my fresh salsa contained both and they're not my favorites. I'm a real wimp when it comes to spicy foods, and was so happy that this soup is full of wonderful flavor - but not HOT at all. Don't be afraid to try this! If you like spicy it's easy to adjust using a hotter salsa. I also recommend the Portuagese Fried Bread on this web-site to go with this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I've made this several times for dinners with friends and it's a hit every time. The consistency can be a bit thin so it's a good idea to have cornstarch on hand just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States