Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Really great recipe. Good like it is but I typically change a few things...try subbing Campbell's Nacho Cheese Soup for the cream of chicken soup. I also add chili powder for a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used only 2 cups of milk and one can of chicken broth and ALOT of flour and this was still very thin, although it did have a good flavor. If you are looking for a thin tortilla soup, this is it, however if you would like a thick tortilla soup (like I was), let me make a few suggestions. Use three cans red enchilada sauce, one can cream of chicken, 1 onion, one can chicken broth, and 1 - 2 cups milk. When you sprinkle the cheese on top it will be much thicker. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This is the best soup everyone always wants this soup. It makes everyone I work with happy when it is potluck and I take this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
WOW! This is the perfect chicken tortilla soup. I love the cream base. It's just the right amout of spicy - not too little and not too much. Our whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Sorry, But I am from Texas and ALL the chicken tortilla soups I have ever encountered have a clear broth base. Just because it has tortillas as a garnish does not make it a tortilla soup..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deedee Sterzing

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
In the winter-time we make this almost every week! Its a comfort food in our house. Instead of half-and-half, I substituted skim milk and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
My thirteen year old son who does not like soup, loved this. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I have given this recipe to a ton of my friends and they have raved over it! The whole family loves it! it is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I knew 2 things just from reading the recipe-- too much fat and not spicy enough for us, we love things kickin. This soup was so good with just a few mods for those who like things spicy and not quite so heavy. 1- Use 2% milk 2- Sautee onions and garlic in 1/2 TBPS olive oil instead of butter 3- Whisk in 1 TBSP flour to milk and broth before adding soup 4- INSTEAD of SALSA add 1/2 can HOT enchilada sauce 5- Add one diced jalapeno with the seeds and 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes for extra kick. I don't know what is normally in fajita mix- I make my own and it's what I used for this 2 TBSP chili powder 1 TBSP cumin 1 tsp oregano 3/4 tsp salt 1/2 tsp garlic powder This was sooo good. I think we will serve it for a football game this fall instead of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States