Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Really delicious! I followed the recipe exactly but omitted the corn. This soup is so flavorful and easy to make! Love it, will definitely be making this many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This recipe has become part of our family football tradition. Following the recipe will make a thick great tasting soup that EVERYONE loves. I have been recently adding grilled corn with garlic and onion at the beginning. (With more margarine) Also grilling the chicken adds a different flavor. Only problem, never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This soup is to die for. Everyone who tried it raved about it. I did find that the recipe as written seemed a little too thick and creamy to me so I used only 2 cups milk instead of 4 cups half and half as well as frozen corn instead of cream of corn. Family and friends all couldn't get enough. Will definitely be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kol Lujan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
i love this soup!i make it all the time.....i add a jalapeno or two for a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My family absolutely loved this soup! Going off some of the reviews, I used 6 tbls butter to saute the onions and the garlic and 6 tbls flour to make the soup creamier (just a matter of personal preference), and also used a 15 oz can of tomatoes with green chiles in place of the salsa. In addition, I added a 7 oz can of green chiles. Not sure why there were so many complaints about the color, we did not find it to be the least bit un-appetizing! In fact, my 10 year old son was already making plans to reserve some for his lunch the next day! My 16 year old daughter is a bit pickier, and typically not a fan of soup, but she thought that it was very good also! Thank you, Julie, for a very good recipe to add to our recipe box. We will have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very good soup! I used 3 chicken breasts and 2 cans of black beans. I also used sour cream for half of the half and half and added a can of chiles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is my husbands favorite soup! He can't get enough of it. It is also a crowd pleaser. Just about everyone I make it for loves it. The only thing I have to keep in mind is that some people don't like cilantro. I just leave the cilantro out or put it on the side if someone doesn't like it. Fantastic soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is a good basic tortilla soup recipe. I made a few changes that made it pretty flavorful. I added two packets of sazon, an additional can of regular corn, an entire large jar of salsa (about 2 1/4 cups). I halved the amount of half-and-half. And instead of dumping in the fajita seasoning, I used the seasoning plus 1 TB olive oil, 1 TB soy sauce, 1/2 TB Liquid smoke, and 2 teaspoons lime juice as a marinade for the chicken for an hour or so. And I cooked the chicken, the onion, and the garlic with the marinade before adding it the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My family loved this soup! Definitely a keeper. Chopped the chicken really fine which made the soup creamy. Will try serving with lime wedges next time and it will be just like the soup in the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was good and everyone loved it. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States