Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Yummy! I did make some changes - we like lots of flavor, so I halved everything except the spices. Didn't use cilantro b/c we don't care for that flavor. Also, I added some frozen corn. Perhaps that's the missing flavor another reviewer mentioned. I only used a tiny bit of oil, just enough to cook the onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
it was ok would not make it like this again! I would cahnge too many things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This dish was delicious, I just put a little less chilli powder. Like other reviewers I found that the tortillas became non-existent because I put them in the beginning. Next time i will add them just 5 minutes before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Flavor was good but my tortilla's came out all mushy. :( May try again but not add tortilla's until later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This soup was excellent! My family loved it! I did cut down on the amount of oil, and added frozen corn, and topped it with green onions, shredded cheddar cheese and tortilla strips. I cut in half the number of tortilla strips that I cooked in the soup,and made crunchy strips out of them, it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter. I know everyones tastes differ but when I was done with this I found it to be a little bland. In order to satisfy my taste I had to add some Tony Chachere's seasoning salt and some canned chopped green chilis. With those two things added I really enjoyed the soup. I did not cook the tortilla strips in the soup. I fried them and allowed each person to add them to their bowl of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
OHMYDAHLIA .. the missing ingredient is white corn.Add a small bag frozen sweet white corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatfreddiescat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I used this recipe as a base for chicken tortilla soup as I did not have all the ingredients that this recipe called for. I put chicken breasts in a crock pot on high for about 3 hrs. then shredded the chicken before adding vegetable broth (did not have chicken), fresh tomatoes (I did not have any canned) and chili powder. In the skillet I sauteed garlic, cilantro, onion, and half packet of taco seasoning for a couple minutes. I then added a cup of broth to the skillet, let it simmer for a few minutes and added this to the crock pot and let everything simmer together for about half hour. Before serving I deep fried tortillas cut in strips for 3-4 minutes and garnished soup with the tortillas, moz cheeze, and sliced avocados. Boyfriend loved it and said it was bursting with flavor, I agree, great recipe to follow, even without everything on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I really enjoyed this! I cut back on the oil and skipped the cilantro (didnt' have any, but I find it kind of strong anyway). I added 1 can of black beans (rinsed & drained) and 1 can of corn. I think you need to adjust the chili powder and salt to your personal taste (I added more chili to mine), but what was listed was a good place to start. Before adding the chicken, beans, and corn I ran my immersion blender through it to combine the tomatoes & tortillas better. It thickened up really nice. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Made as written which is what people should do---otherwise its NOT the intended recipe! Read top reviews first, added fresh tomato, frozen chopped cilantro, frozen corn, and leftover shredded roasted chicken....delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Daskal Aynessazian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States