Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
There were good things and bad things about this soup. The good: The flavor was amazing! The seasonings all blended together to create a flavorful base. Now for the bad: There were way too many tomatoes for our taste. Next time I'll use a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. Secondly, adding the tortillas at the beginning ended terribly as they became mushy and fell apart. It also just seemed like something was missing...corn, beans, something. I did fry up some corn tortilla strips to add to the top of the soup which kind of saved it for us. Next time I will omit the tortillas at the beginning of the recipe and just fry up strips to top the soup with. I will also add some beans and/or corn. Thank you for a good base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hagtag1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Really excellent soup! I'm going to make it again, but this time I'm going to add some black beans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
So, so good! I've made it twice. The second time I added black beans for extra protien and fiber, but I liked it better without. I cooked the chicken first in the onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
First, deep fry the tortillas separately and DON'T put them in the soup afterwards to cook, otherwise they become a soggy mess - you only need 4 tortillas at most. Also, unless you want chicken tortilla stew, don't use 5 chicken breasts - maybe 2 or 3. Next time I will be trying a differenct recipe because this recipe, as is, was NOT soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Delicious! Easy & tasty. Sustituted rotissary chicken and added a couple more tortillas to thicken. Topped w/ sour cream, shredded cheese and green onions. Will definately cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Very simple, and it lasts for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Wonderful recipe! This is similar to soup I ate in a restaurant last year. I found out too late that my tortillas were no good, so I omitted them. Added black beans for bulk & shoepeg corn. Everyone loved it. This will become a staple in our home. Next time, I'll make sure I have fresh corn tortillas & leave out the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Crowd pleaser!! This soup was wonderful for a winter party I had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is the best tortilla soup recipe! However, I have never heard of doing the tortillas at the beginning. Usually, you toast the tortilla strips in the oven, lightly salt them, then top the soup with the strips and cheese immediately before serving. That is the only modification I have made other than adding more cilantro because I looove cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I agree with the review who suggested this recipe needs *something* Here is what I did for my first attempt which was well received, although I am going to keep playing with the recipe. I don't know how much oil I used, but it took more than I expected because the tortillas soak up a bunch. I fried half the tortillas as the recipe suggested and saved the rest to add at the end. In addition to a 28 oz. can of diced tomatos I added some salsa, a cup at most. I also added a 25 oz. can of black beans and about a cup of corn (I'll probably double this next time). I used a roasted chicken from the grocery store (it was cheaper than chicken breast). I also added 1-2 t. of mole, which added some really great flavor. I cooked the chicken in there for about 15 minutes. Everything else I did as suggested. I am very very pleased with the way it turned out and it's going to be a recipe that I'll keep coming back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States