Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great, easy soup! Everyone loves it. I've made it several times exactly as stated but added frozen corn and black beans the last time just to make it go further and to make it a more complete meal. Adding the corn tortillas at the beginning is a bix part of the texture of the soup and I wouldn't omit this step. Just add some crunchy ones to each bowl if you like that contrast. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I love chicken tortilla soup and this recipe met all my expectations! I took the suggestions of other reviews and added black beans. I also took so corn tortillas and cut them up and fried them to add a crunch to the soup since the added tortillas added get soggy. Top it off with a dap of sour cream and no other chicken tortilla soup will compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Great soup! I also added a can of corn, 14.5 oz of diced tomatoes with green chilies, and 14.5 oz of diced tomatoes. My husband and I ate the soup with sour cream, crushed tortilla chips, shredded cheese and fresh avocados. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Wonderful soup! I used flour tortillas (only ones I had) but still worked out great, they probably made the soup a little thicker, so next time I'll add more broth! This recipe is great the way it is, but adding beans/corn and other mexican spices would be fun to try! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornelius, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I loved this recipe but I did also take the advice of others and I added a can of corn and a can of black beans. I felt like it needed more. The tortillas do get really soggy if you add them at the beginning so I also added some crispy tortillas before serving to the top. I didn't feel it had enought salt either so added more to taste. Taste was very good, not too spicy either. Will make again with my variations for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Definitely delicious and pretty easy! I did as others recommended and added black beans and corn, and reduced the oil. Definitely a 5 with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Turned out great! I didn't add bay leaves because I had none, still turned out great. Used a can of tomato sauce & added fresh tomatoes. 1 tbsp of cumin. Added extra fresh cilantro. 1 can of chicken broth. I placed uncooked chicken breasts in, & shredded after wards. Threw everything in crock pot on high x3 hrs & turned out great. using fresh cilantro gives it a flavorful taste. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I boiled a whole organic chicken to make broth, then took it out & shredded the meat. Also added black beans, chicken bullion, and a little taco seasoning to the recipe. Substituted crushed corn tortilla chips instead of the tortillas & added them at the end...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
There were good things and bad things about this soup. The good: The flavor was amazing! The seasonings all blended together to create a flavorful base. Now for the bad: There were way too many tomatoes for our taste. Next time I'll use a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. Secondly, adding the tortillas at the beginning ended terribly as they became mushy and fell apart. It also just seemed like something was missing...corn, beans, something. I did fry up some corn tortilla strips to add to the top of the soup which kind of saved it for us. Next time I will omit the tortillas at the beginning of the recipe and just fry up strips to top the soup with. I will also add some beans and/or corn. Thank you for a good base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hagtag1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Really excellent soup! I'm going to make it again, but this time I'm going to add some black beans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States