Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by sunshineinsa
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
So easy! I made a few changes: used about 3 T of oil instead of 6 (what?!) I made the chicken first using half the spices and sauteed the onions in the same pan first. Then I followed the recipe. I added more chili and some red pepper flakes because I like spice. Also skipped the tortillas at the beginning and just crushed tortilla chips over the soup at the end. So great! Wish I did have raspberry margaritas with it :) On a personal note: I have a sinus infection and this was the first meal I could taste and it cleared my nose up! (check out my photo as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshineinsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
amazing.but you can vito the last 3 tablespoons of oil because 3 is enough,you don't need 6 or it gets too oily.also i wudnt put the tortilla strips on until the end as a topper or they get mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
great soup. I added some fresh jalps and a can of black beans. Oh and the chicken was a roasted whole bird pulled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bpowers4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have now made this soup many many times. I add 2 cans corns and 2 cans black beans to it. I leave out the tortilla part and just use a bag of tortillas. This is a great winter soup and my hubby asks for it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This really is a great soup! I topped it with Tostios Hint of Lime which really gave it some great flavor! Superb leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Maine, USA
Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The next day the cumin was overwhelming. Pretty spicy, but I like spicy! Took others' advice by toasting the tortillas first. Sounded like they'd get way too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi1987

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I'm from Texas currently living in Washington & I love Mexican food. Believe me, I know good Mexican food when I taste it. This recipe is a good jumping off point with a few adjustments. Anyone that knows anything about tortilla soup, knows the best way to eat this is not to put the tortillas into the soup. It makes them 'soggy' and disquesting. I fixed the recipe true to guidelines, other than that. Tortilla soup base is best with chicken broth, not so many tomatoes; I'd eliminate them altogether and use chicken broth/bullion instead. Then when the soup is done, put some fresh cilantro in the soup...so much better than cooking it in. On top I put chopped fresh tomatoes, some fresh onions, green or red (whatever you got) and while the soup has been cooking, cut some uncooked corn tortillas into thin strips and fry them up. Tortilla soup is great with avacados either sliced or cubed on top and a spoonful of sour cream on top. Squeeze some lime in for more flavor. The tortilla strips are put on the top right before eating, making them crunchy and heavenly. Hope this helps. I give this 4 stars due to all the adjustments I had to make and due to the base not being true chicken base. Best of luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I really liked this soup.I only used 2 tablespoons of oil and added some chopped mini bell peppers and a can of corn. I also used a can of fire roasted dice tomatoes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I dont know what else to say except .....fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Very good. I cut down on oil to 4 tablespoons when cooking tortilla strips. They fell apart in soup, but that actually worked out well and thickened up the soup. I slow boiled 3 chicken breasts in a dutch oven with cumin,chilli pepper, pepper, and little salt. I then saved this water and used as my chicken broth. I skipped bay leaves and added a can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Hess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States