Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Minor changes, this will get made many more times. Followed suggestions in some of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westmoreland, Kansas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yummy! So easy to make, but very satisfying! I doubled the recipe and added 2 small cans of hominy. I also used crushed tomatoes and 2 cans of rotel with peppers and cilantro, and 1 hot pepper (not sure what kind). Was awesome, but could definitely use more heat to taste, and more hominy. I will double the amount of hominy next time. Sliced radishes, green onions, olives, cheese, tortillas, and limes were used as garnish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ocnkrs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Made it for a family get-together and I had people asking me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Griffith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Just a few changes.... * Before starting the soup, I cut some fresh corn tortillas into strips, fried them, and set aside. * Added a diced quarter of a chile serano to the garlic / onion / cilantro mix. * Instead of the canned tomatoes, I used diced yellow pear (cherry) tomatoes from the over-producing plant in my garden. * Instead of the chili powder, I used "Tajin" salsa en polvo from my local Mexican market. * As for chicken, I used some "leftover" breast meat from a beer-butt chicken (look for the recipe -- really good) that I had previously bbq'ed. * At serving time, I cut in a fresh avocado, and crumbled in the fried tortilla chips I had prepared earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
DELICIOUS!! It is a rich, satisfying soup with deep flavor! My husband asked me to add this to our regular soup recipes! I agree with LisaPK71 and RICA. Use A LOT less oil. I added a can of black beans for texture and flavor. For the garnish, I fried strips of left-over tortillas and topped the bowl of soup with a dap of guacamole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
thanks. i added a can of black beans and changed nothing else. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
i made this recipe almost exactly. i didn't add the cilantro until the end, because i was unfamiliar with frying it that way and didn't want to ruin anything. also, i added a half of a can of corn at the end as well. this was really great, my husband ate a whole bowl which is a compliment with any soup. the tortillas are meant to thicken the soup, you should simmer it until they dissolve. extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Good base tortilla soup. I didn't add the corn tortillas in the beginning because I prefer a clear tortilla soup but I otherwise followed the recipe. I used grilled and shredded chicken breast that was seasoned by my butcher, which added some heat. For the tomatoes, I opted for the rotel w/chilies. After the soup was finished and I gave the recipe my rating, I knew I could make this good soup great, and added corn, black beans, chipotle bouillon, tomato/veggie bouillon, and water; and then I cooked it a bit longer. I served it w/shredded white cheese, tortilla chips, and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Perfect flavor and spice! We used left over chicken from burritos (w/green enchilada sauce already in it) and sprinkled cheese on top (w/ a dollop of sour cream). Can't wait to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I used this for the basis to use up some leftover store-bought rotisserie chicken. I stripped the chicken meat and diced it up and set aside. I used the bones/skin from the chicken, added 3.5 cups water, some salt/pepper/1 bay leaf and simmered for ~40 mins to make broth, then strained and discarded the bones/skin. The next day I made the tortilla soup but omitted the oil and tortillas, and just threw all the rest of the ingredients into a pot with the broth for about 40 minutes. I also added 1/4 tsp dried oregano. Then ladled the soup on top of tortilla chips, with a squeeze of fresh lime (a must!). It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States