Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Let me start by saying...I know people get upset when recipes are rated based on changes that were made and not the recipe as it is written, but I the changes I made do not take away from the heart of this recipe. With that said, this recipe is fabulous! I used a few of other reviewers suggestions to tailor this to my spicy, veggie-loving taste buds. Here is what I changed: 1. I use less oil. I don't actually measure it, but it's not more than 2 Tbsp and that's plenty. 2. I only use 6 tortillas in an attempt to cut a few calories and because there were quite a few negative comments about the tortillas being mushy. I have not had that problem...I think they thicken the soup nicely. 3. I use 1 can (14.5 oz) of diced tomatoes and 1 1/2 cans (14.5 oz) of diced tomatoes with green chiles.....deliciously spicy, if that's what you're into! (The other half can of "Rotel" is used to make guacamole...mmmmmm!) 4. I add a few carrots to simmer for about an hour. 5. 20 minutes before we're ready to eat, I add some frozen corn (I don't measure it, but probably about 1 cup) and 1 can of drained and rinsed black beans. My husband raves about this soup and we absolutely love that there are always tons of leftovers! I squeeze a little lime juice over my soup just before I eat it, and my husband enjoys a handful of extra sharp cheddar cheese on his. I used http://www.food.com/recipe/my-famous-shredded-chicken-205760 for my chicken and it is deliciously tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was ok, but I probably will not make again as I think the other taco soups I have made are much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very nice!!! I boiled the chicken, and used the stock from it. Shredded the chicken. I baked the corn tortillas with cooking spray, only use 1 tablespoon of oil to fry the onions, cilantro, and garlic. Added Chipotle Chili Powder. Didn't add the tortilla until it was ready to be served. I added a few slices of tortilla bottom of a bowl, with a few slices of avocados, add the soup mix. Topped with a dash of sour crème. YUMMY!!! Took this to Christmas Dinner, and it vanished, no left overs. :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This turned out really well. I've been wanting to try Tortilla Soup for a while. I added one can of black beans, drained, to the pot. Everyone had second and third helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a great dish! I made it as directed and it was great. The second time, I used a rotisserie chicken and it was even better. This is a family favorite for sure. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Malia Brinkley
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I'm not sure how the ORIGINAL recipe tastes, but with the modifications I made, this soup was pretty dang good. This is what I did differently: ADDED 1 stalk of celery, 1 (8 oz.) can tomato sauce, and 1 can corn. SUBSTITUTED 1 (4 oz.) can jalapenos for cayenne (because I had forgotten that I ran out of cayenne). REDUCED oil from 6 tablespoons to 2 tablespoons, tortillas from 6 to 3 (you need it to thicken the soup), cumin (from 2 tablespoons to 1 tablespoon), and chili powder from 1 tablespoon to 1.5 teaspoons. GARNISHED with crispy tortilla strips and sour cream. I also kept the soup boiling (stirring frequently to avoid burning) for the 30 minutes it was supposed to be simmering to cook out some of the liquid. Next time I make it, I will either use fresh jalapenos or a teaspoon of pepper flakes, add the cilantro with the chicken, the whole tablespoon of chili powder, and I won't forget the lime. I love lime...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Very good soup! My family loves it! Sometimes I add a can of black beans or pinto beans & cut back on the chicken. It's more budget freindly, and we already eat a lot of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is fantastic! A few things I did different: did not get to use the tortillas in the beginning of recipe, and I used dry cilantro instead of fresh because that is all I had. I put in the crockpot for 8 hours on low and and threw in some cooked rice in the last 30 minutes. I did throw in some lime juice at the end over the soup, about 1 tablespoon. I really think this brightened it up. Even added a little extra on each bowl. Topped with cheese, crushed chips and sour cream. This was hands down the best soup recipe I have made. The flavor was tremendous after cooking for at least 8 hours in the slow cooker. The next day was even better, it reminded me of Qdoba's Mexican Gumbo with the added rice. If I do not use rice the next time, I will make sure I use the corn tortillas in the beginning of the recipe. From reading multiple reviews, the corn tortillas act as a thickening agent. But, the rice was fantastic so that is how I will most likely make this from here out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Don't let the simplicity of this recipe discourage you - it is absolutely incredible. I have never tried the rotisserie method, but hope to soon. I normall boil my chicken, let it cool, then shred it as others have mentioned. Very IMPORTANT, I advise not to add all the oil or the tortillas in the beginning. This will turn your soup mushy and make it way too oily. Fry/bake your tortilla strips separate and add at the end - will be glad you did. All the oil that is needed is a Tbsp or two at the start for the cilantro/onions/garlic - that's it. I also had a can of corn to mine, and kick up the portion of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mulligan69

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I have made this several times and it always turns out great! One thing I wanted to point out is that you need to use soft corn tortillas (as opposed to tortilla shells or chips). These will break down and thicken the soup if you cook it long enough so I would strongly recommend you not skip this step! My changes: I always add 2 cans of black beans and a bell pepper to make it more of a chili. Also, try shredding the chicken. Instead of cooking just a half hour, I let it simmer for about 1 1/5 hours. You can also use a hand blender to break down the tortillas if they still are not disintigrated enough for you. Serve with avocado, shredded cheese, fresh cilantro, tortilla chips and sour cream. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States