Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I really enjoyed this! I cut back on the oil and skipped the cilantro (didnt' have any, but I find it kind of strong anyway). I added 1 can of black beans (rinsed & drained) and 1 can of corn. I think you need to adjust the chili powder and salt to your personal taste (I added more chili to mine), but what was listed was a good place to start. Before adding the chicken, beans, and corn I ran my immersion blender through it to combine the tomatoes & tortillas better. It thickened up really nice. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Made as written which is what people should do---otherwise its NOT the intended recipe! Read top reviews first, added fresh tomato, frozen chopped cilantro, frozen corn, and leftover shredded roasted chicken....delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Daskal Aynessazian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was good, but a bit too much in the flavor department for me, so I added about 6 oz. water. For the torillas I sprayed each side with PAM and put them in the broiler oven on high for 3 minutes on one side, flipped over, then 2 minutes. They were crispy around the edges and softer in middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was a great recipe. I followed what other people said and only used a small amount of oil (2 tbs) and it turned out great. The flavor of it was great. I would defenitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickiePuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Our new favorite! The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly except that we added the tortillas at the end because we like them crunchy. We ran out of tortillas ~ so for the left overs we used tortilla chips, which actually tasted better than the ones I made, so I don't fuss with that anymore! I also skip the cayenne and let each person stir in red pepper flakes to their bowl if they want to add heat. To serve we crush a handful of chips and then add cubed mexican cheese or montery jack cheese and a few slices of avacado, a scoop of soup then top with sour cream! THE BEST! YUM! It is just like we had at a nice resturant in Mexico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good! This recipe is a good in itself, and also very easy to modify or add stuff to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txvtchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Cut back a bit on the cayenne and chili pepper but everyone in the family loved this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I think this has a great base but had to make too many changes to say this is soup is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I would give this recipe 4 stars! I changed a few things. The first time I prepared it it turned out perfectly. The only thing I changed was decreasing the amount of chicken broth from 6 cups to 4 1/2 cups. I would recommend this to any friend or family member.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very simple and easy to make. I used fresh tomatoes rather than canned, and added corn and red sweet pepper. I skipped the veg oil and baked my tortilla pieces. Used olive oil spray to saute garlic/onions. I added the tortilla pieces to the bottom of the soup bowl after cooking rather than cooking them in the soup and it turned out fine. garnished with fresh cilantro, some of the tortilla pieces and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States