Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was pretty good as a base but bland even though it had an excess of spice. I had to add some things to make it to my liking. I added the rest of the container of Chicken broth (normal sized Swanson container) a Chicken bullion cube, a little extra salt, extra Cilantro base (the kind in the jar), extra juice from a jar of minced garlic and a pinch more chili powder. It tasted pretty good but had way too many "spices" even after adding extra broth. I would suggest finding a way to cut back on the content of spices without loosing flavor, you'll have to do this by taste. If you don't you'll find yourself half chocking and coughing on the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I had to do a lot of doctoring of this recipe as there was just not enough complexity for our family's taste. First of all I doubled the recipe, then I minced 6 jalapeños (no seeds) to the onion. (Now I'm not one for HOT flavor at all but without the seeds, the jalapeños are just a nice bell pepper-type taste.) I saved the cilantro to be served on the top of the soup. I added 2 cans of corn, 1 can of black beans, 1 can of pintos and 1 can of sliced olives along with 3 cans of the tomatoes. I used two large cartons of chicken broth. I used 6 of the tortillas and minced them (in the Cuisinart) together with the seasonings. I added the tortilla mixture to the broth to thicken it which worked very well. I sautéed the chicken separately and added it at the very end just before serving, so as to keep it soft and tender. I set out crunchy tortilla chips, grated cheddar cheese, sour cream, minced cilantro and chopped avocado to add to the top of the soup as it was ladled into the bowls. With all these changes the soup was absolutely magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is my all time favorite chicken tortilla soup recipe. The flavor is wonderful. I've used this recipe for several years now, and I don't even want to try anyone else's. Top notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
garnish with avocado. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was great soup. I sauteed the chicken with garlic and a shallot and some five spice. My wife added beans and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love this soup... I did add the recommended corn and black beans. Unbeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Omg! fabulous. i am not a cook by any means. my family couldnt believe that i made something so delicious. it was so easy to make. i added corn and black beans......loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Simply amazing! I did not use that much oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
So good! I'm lazy so I always use rotisserie chicken In dishes that call for cooked chicken and it works every time. This soup had all the right flavors even the tortillas in the broth. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States