Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
garnish with avocado. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was great soup. I sauteed the chicken with garlic and a shallot and some five spice. My wife added beans and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love this soup... I did add the recommended corn and black beans. Unbeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Omg! fabulous. i am not a cook by any means. my family couldnt believe that i made something so delicious. it was so easy to make. i added corn and black beans......loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Simply amazing! I did not use that much oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
So good! I'm lazy so I always use rotisserie chicken In dishes that call for cooked chicken and it works every time. This soup had all the right flavors even the tortillas in the broth. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Let me start by saying...I know people get upset when recipes are rated based on changes that were made and not the recipe as it is written, but I the changes I made do not take away from the heart of this recipe. With that said, this recipe is fabulous! I used a few of other reviewers suggestions to tailor this to my spicy, veggie-loving taste buds. Here is what I changed: 1. I use less oil. I don't actually measure it, but it's not more than 2 Tbsp and that's plenty. 2. I only use 6 tortillas in an attempt to cut a few calories and because there were quite a few negative comments about the tortillas being mushy. I have not had that problem...I think they thicken the soup nicely. 3. I use 1 can (14.5 oz) of diced tomatoes and 1 1/2 cans (14.5 oz) of diced tomatoes with green chiles.....deliciously spicy, if that's what you're into! (The other half can of "Rotel" is used to make guacamole...mmmmmm!) 4. I add a few carrots to simmer for about an hour. 5. 20 minutes before we're ready to eat, I add some frozen corn (I don't measure it, but probably about 1 cup) and 1 can of drained and rinsed black beans. My husband raves about this soup and we absolutely love that there are always tons of leftovers! I squeeze a little lime juice over my soup just before I eat it, and my husband enjoys a handful of extra sharp cheddar cheese on his. I used http://www.food.com/recipe/my-famous-shredded-chicken-205760 for my chicken and it is deliciously tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was ok, but I probably will not make again as I think the other taco soups I have made are much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very nice!!! I boiled the chicken, and used the stock from it. Shredded the chicken. I baked the corn tortillas with cooking spray, only use 1 tablespoon of oil to fry the onions, cilantro, and garlic. Added Chipotle Chili Powder. Didn't add the tortilla until it was ready to be served. I added a few slices of tortilla bottom of a bowl, with a few slices of avocados, add the soup mix. Topped with a dash of sour crème. YUMMY!!! Took this to Christmas Dinner, and it vanished, no left overs. :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States