Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
YUM, so great!!! One note: about HALF the oil is plenty. For ease of preparation, I got a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken from the deli counter instead of the chicken breasts - way faster and easier, and the meat is really flavorful. Just take it off the bones, give it a rough chop and you're done. My no-nonsense, meat&potatoes husband requested a big batch of soup to take camping! Nice and sniffle-inducing spicy; adjust the cayenne or serve with a big spoonful of sour cream for the faint of heart. I've already sent the recipe to four people; my family loves it, and so do my husband's camping buddies. This will go into heavy rotation for us! Garnish with any combo of: crunchy tortilla strips (save a few tortillas to make some fresh-sprinkle lightly with onion powder); some remaining cilantro; sour cream, shredded cheese; avocado; and whatever you do, don't skip a squeeze of fresh lime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This soup is great! Everybody loves it. I did two things differently -- first, I cooked the chicken with the spices in the first step of the recipe so the chicken meat would absorb the flavors. Secondly, I was out of corn tortillas so I used tortilla chips that I just crumbled in the bottom of the bowl before adding the soup. (I felt that the tortillas added at the beginning got too mushy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
The flavor is pretty good. The appearance is mushy garbage. It has so much oil it collects at the top in a thick layer. It hardly looks edible, but it is. I will however attempt this recipe again with a few changes. 1) Fry the tortilla strips drain and set aside. 2) Saute onions and cilantro in 2-3T (not 6T) of oil. Drain and return to pot. Do whatever you can to reduce the oil. 3) Follow rest of recipe. 4) Garnish with fried tortilla strips and maybe a mexican cheese such as Queso Quesadilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Absolutely incredible. I would decresase the oil to 4 tbl spoons next time. I added 2 cans of diced corn and 2 cans of rinsed black beans. We topped it with sourcream, cheese and green onions. This will become a staple soup at our house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This is a fantastic soup that allows room to experiment. I followed the recipe but, made a few changes..... Started with a CHILI infused OIL.................I did keep the TORTILLAS in the soup from the beginning (doing so seemed to keep soup thick) and added a few crunchy chips in the end for texture.......Used (1) jar SALSA and (1) can tomatoes that added up to the 29 oz. required.....Also, added 1/2 cup CREAM in the end before serving. Overall, this is a great recipe I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 simply because I felt something was MISSING. I can't say exactly what. If anyone has any suggestions I hope they post it. I used all the same garnishes as suggested. However, it seems a key spice is perhaps lacking. Though, I have to say DON'T LET THIS ONE PASS YOU BY...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Trey, this is a fabulous recipe. I used about one and half pounds of boneless chicken breasts that I sprinkled with Spicy Mrs. Dash and cookd for 5 minutes in my George Forman grill. I let it cool while I made the rest of the soup and then cut it up into bite sized pieces! My son makes it all the time now and loves it! In fact, I have made it for many a guest and this recipe is truly a HIT!!! I did make sure that I used really fresh cumin (not one that had been sitting on my spice shelf for years) and I think that made a big difference. I love the flavor of the corn tortillas that cook with the soup and I really don't care that they are NOT crispy. One can add the tortilla strips when serving it along with the addition of some ripe avocado and extra chopped cilantro. It really is better the next day. Thanks again! Amy Pla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Very, very simple and excellent for a cool autumn day. I substituted one cup of whole milk for one cup of chicken stock and it was a creamy, zesty success. Don't forget the shredded cheddar on top! UPDATE 10/13/09 - made a great batch substituting leftover Slow Cooker Carnitas for the chicken. So versatile and great for cool weather warm-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very tasty and easy to make. I added half a can of black beans, half a can of corn, and used Rotel for the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWEEKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmetto, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was a good start. I used a 29 oz can of Rotel because I like spicy (but did omit the cayenne pepper). I sauteed the onion and a little bell pepper in oil with garlic & cumin and added this to the chicken broth & tomatoes. I used a rotisserie chicken (honey mesquite) and just chopped it up and put it in the liquid broth. I also added a can of black beans & a can of corn. I did not add the tortilla strips until the last 30 minutes so they would not be as mushy. I served it with shredded cheese and avocado. It was healthy and had wonderful flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Wonderful! I also added some chopped celery and a couple of jalapenos cut in rings (fresh and w/o seeds).It was not too spicy. Served with grated cheese on toasted torilla strips and a dolup of sour cream. This is definately going to be one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States