Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Crowd pleaser!! This soup was wonderful for a winter party I had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is the best tortilla soup recipe! However, I have never heard of doing the tortillas at the beginning. Usually, you toast the tortilla strips in the oven, lightly salt them, then top the soup with the strips and cheese immediately before serving. That is the only modification I have made other than adding more cilantro because I looove cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I agree with the review who suggested this recipe needs *something* Here is what I did for my first attempt which was well received, although I am going to keep playing with the recipe. I don't know how much oil I used, but it took more than I expected because the tortillas soak up a bunch. I fried half the tortillas as the recipe suggested and saved the rest to add at the end. In addition to a 28 oz. can of diced tomatos I added some salsa, a cup at most. I also added a 25 oz. can of black beans and about a cup of corn (I'll probably double this next time). I used a roasted chicken from the grocery store (it was cheaper than chicken breast). I also added 1-2 t. of mole, which added some really great flavor. I cooked the chicken in there for about 15 minutes. Everything else I did as suggested. I am very very pleased with the way it turned out and it's going to be a recipe that I'll keep coming back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This soup is so delicious. My wife and I eat this all the time. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is a for sure keeper. Instead of regular diced tomatoes, I used rotel. I served it with tortilla strips, avacado, and fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Yummy! I did make some changes - we like lots of flavor, so I halved everything except the spices. Didn't use cilantro b/c we don't care for that flavor. Also, I added some frozen corn. Perhaps that's the missing flavor another reviewer mentioned. I only used a tiny bit of oil, just enough to cook the onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
it was ok would not make it like this again! I would cahnge too many things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This dish was delicious, I just put a little less chilli powder. Like other reviewers I found that the tortillas became non-existent because I put them in the beginning. Next time i will add them just 5 minutes before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Flavor was good but my tortilla's came out all mushy. :( May try again but not add tortilla's until later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This soup was excellent! My family loved it! I did cut down on the amount of oil, and added frozen corn, and topped it with green onions, shredded cheddar cheese and tortilla strips. I cut in half the number of tortilla strips that I cooked in the soup,and made crunchy strips out of them, it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States