Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was a good start. I used a 29 oz can of Rotel because I like spicy (but did omit the cayenne pepper). I sauteed the onion and a little bell pepper in oil with garlic & cumin and added this to the chicken broth & tomatoes. I used a rotisserie chicken (honey mesquite) and just chopped it up and put it in the liquid broth. I also added a can of black beans & a can of corn. I did not add the tortilla strips until the last 30 minutes so they would not be as mushy. I served it with shredded cheese and avocado. It was healthy and had wonderful flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Thoroughly enjoyed..did opt for the 1/2 oil needed and used Olive Oil ( 3 Tbl) and turned out great! Topped with green onions and jalapenos. YUM..took a bit of time but worth it! Will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This soup has a lot to offer as far as taste and smell but I did follow other reviews and lessen the amount of oil, added corn and black beans. I also used ancho chile powder (because that's all I had) and the fresh cilantro made it great! I did fry some corn tortilla strips because the tortillas in the soup did get very soggy. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Boyfriend was not as fond of this, but my 7 year old was, and she is a picky eater. I will definitely make this again and maybe add some more cumin and chili powder to satisfy bf's taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was INCREDIBLY tasty. I put a little oil in the pan, used 3 corn tortillas instead of 8, used a whole "bunch" of cilantro (from Kroger), no onions or bay leaves, and Adobo con Pimiento in place of plain salt. Everything else was according to the recipe (except that I didn't actually "measure" the ingredients). I also added a can of corn and a can of black beans. I also "pulled" rotisserie chicken to use as my chicken. After it was all done, I tasted in (I don't believe in tasting my food until its done...I smell it to "taste" it while I cook). Needless to say, the flavor pretty much changed my life. This is definitely the best soup I've ever made...thanks to this recipe. I can't wait to taste it tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great, easy soup! Everyone loves it. I've made it several times exactly as stated but added frozen corn and black beans the last time just to make it go further and to make it a more complete meal. Adding the corn tortillas at the beginning is a bix part of the texture of the soup and I wouldn't omit this step. Just add some crunchy ones to each bowl if you like that contrast. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I love chicken tortilla soup and this recipe met all my expectations! I took the suggestions of other reviews and added black beans. I also took so corn tortillas and cut them up and fried them to add a crunch to the soup since the added tortillas added get soggy. Top it off with a dap of sour cream and no other chicken tortilla soup will compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Great soup! I also added a can of corn, 14.5 oz of diced tomatoes with green chilies, and 14.5 oz of diced tomatoes. My husband and I ate the soup with sour cream, crushed tortilla chips, shredded cheese and fresh avocados. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Wonderful soup! I used flour tortillas (only ones I had) but still worked out great, they probably made the soup a little thicker, so next time I'll add more broth! This recipe is great the way it is, but adding beans/corn and other mexican spices would be fun to try! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornelius, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I loved this recipe but I did also take the advice of others and I added a can of corn and a can of black beans. I felt like it needed more. The tortillas do get really soggy if you add them at the beginning so I also added some crispy tortillas before serving to the top. I didn't feel it had enought salt either so added more to taste. Taste was very good, not too spicy either. Will make again with my variations for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States