Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The next day the cumin was overwhelming. Pretty spicy, but I like spicy! Took others' advice by toasting the tortillas first. Sounded like they'd get way too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi1987

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I'm from Texas currently living in Washington & I love Mexican food. Believe me, I know good Mexican food when I taste it. This recipe is a good jumping off point with a few adjustments. Anyone that knows anything about tortilla soup, knows the best way to eat this is not to put the tortillas into the soup. It makes them 'soggy' and disquesting. I fixed the recipe true to guidelines, other than that. Tortilla soup base is best with chicken broth, not so many tomatoes; I'd eliminate them altogether and use chicken broth/bullion instead. Then when the soup is done, put some fresh cilantro in the soup...so much better than cooking it in. On top I put chopped fresh tomatoes, some fresh onions, green or red (whatever you got) and while the soup has been cooking, cut some uncooked corn tortillas into thin strips and fry them up. Tortilla soup is great with avacados either sliced or cubed on top and a spoonful of sour cream on top. Squeeze some lime in for more flavor. The tortilla strips are put on the top right before eating, making them crunchy and heavenly. Hope this helps. I give this 4 stars due to all the adjustments I had to make and due to the base not being true chicken base. Best of luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I really liked this soup.I only used 2 tablespoons of oil and added some chopped mini bell peppers and a can of corn. I also used a can of fire roasted dice tomatoes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I dont know what else to say except .....fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Very good. I cut down on oil to 4 tablespoons when cooking tortilla strips. They fell apart in soup, but that actually worked out well and thickened up the soup. I slow boiled 3 chicken breasts in a dutch oven with cumin,chilli pepper, pepper, and little salt. I then saved this water and used as my chicken broth. I skipped bay leaves and added a can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOTTAHESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The soup had great flavor, I did add a Tbl. of chicken base (boullion). I would add less tortilla's and chicken, the soup was very thick, stew like. The tortilla's became too mushy for my taste, I'd saute my tortilla's and add them maybe 15 minutes before the soup was done next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shingle Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Delicious! I added a can of corn and black beans. It really added to the soup. The seasoning really made a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Fantastic recipe ... also threw in a can of rinsed black beans, and sautéed the chicken with a packet of Sazon Goya seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
THIS is the tortilla soup recipe I've been looking for! Fresh, simple flavors and hearty to boot! I like to let it cook a little longer so the tortillas "melt" completely into the soup and thicken it up. Gives it great flavor. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! Update: have made this several times now and two things I will definitely do from now is is 1.) add a can of black beans, and 2.) use San Marzano crushed tomatoes instead of just diced. I still LOVE this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bel920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I used this recipe for my first tortilla soup and it was excellent! I paired it with cilantro-lime rice and some black beans to mimic Qudoba's mexican gumbo. I have made it twice already and it keeps well in the fridge and is still awesome after being zapped in the microwave. I'm going to stick with this recipe, two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States