Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
thanks. i added a can of black beans and changed nothing else. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
i made this recipe almost exactly. i didn't add the cilantro until the end, because i was unfamiliar with frying it that way and didn't want to ruin anything. also, i added a half of a can of corn at the end as well. this was really great, my husband ate a whole bowl which is a compliment with any soup. the tortillas are meant to thicken the soup, you should simmer it until they dissolve. extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Good base tortilla soup. I didn't add the corn tortillas in the beginning because I prefer a clear tortilla soup but I otherwise followed the recipe. I used grilled and shredded chicken breast that was seasoned by my butcher, which added some heat. For the tomatoes, I opted for the rotel w/chilies. After the soup was finished and I gave the recipe my rating, I knew I could make this good soup great, and added corn, black beans, chipotle bouillon, tomato/veggie bouillon, and water; and then I cooked it a bit longer. I served it w/shredded white cheese, tortilla chips, and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Perfect flavor and spice! We used left over chicken from burritos (w/green enchilada sauce already in it) and sprinkled cheese on top (w/ a dollop of sour cream). Can't wait to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I used this for the basis to use up some leftover store-bought rotisserie chicken. I stripped the chicken meat and diced it up and set aside. I used the bones/skin from the chicken, added 3.5 cups water, some salt/pepper/1 bay leaf and simmered for ~40 mins to make broth, then strained and discarded the bones/skin. The next day I made the tortilla soup but omitted the oil and tortillas, and just threw all the rest of the ingredients into a pot with the broth for about 40 minutes. I also added 1/4 tsp dried oregano. Then ladled the soup on top of tortilla chips, with a squeeze of fresh lime (a must!). It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshineinsa
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
So easy! I made a few changes: used about 3 T of oil instead of 6 (what?!) I made the chicken first using half the spices and sauteed the onions in the same pan first. Then I followed the recipe. I added more chili and some red pepper flakes because I like spice. Also skipped the tortillas at the beginning and just crushed tortilla chips over the soup at the end. So great! Wish I did have raspberry margaritas with it :) On a personal note: I have a sinus infection and this was the first meal I could taste and it cleared my nose up! (check out my photo as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshineinsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
amazing.but you can vito the last 3 tablespoons of oil because 3 is enough,you don't need 6 or it gets too oily.also i wudnt put the tortilla strips on until the end as a topper or they get mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
great soup. I added some fresh jalps and a can of black beans. Oh and the chicken was a roasted whole bird pulled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bpowers4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have now made this soup many many times. I add 2 cans corns and 2 cans black beans to it. I leave out the tortilla part and just use a bag of tortillas. This is a great winter soup and my hubby asks for it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This really is a great soup! I topped it with Tostios Hint of Lime which really gave it some great flavor! Superb leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Maine, USA
Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States