Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Very good base recipe. Like others, I used Rotel in place of tomatoes. I pureed warm broth, about 6 sliced corn tortillas and about 3/4 cup of shredded cheese into my vitamix. This made for a very smooth appearance. I topped it off with fresh cilantro and green onions, and headed for a gathering. Every partaker complimented the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've made this soup twice! I liked it so much! I had to adjust the cumin to a little less but it was great and I am ready to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Ok I didn't have cilantro, I know, bad bad bad. But even without it, this was sooooo yummy! We all loved it. And I agree you don't need that much oil. I used olive oil and just enough to cover the bottom of the pan. I cooked up fresh tortilla strips to top it with at the end and also added a small can of drained black beans and some leftover rice I had here. It was a FULL meal and I will def make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made this soup for my husband and kids and they loved it! My husband had some of this soup at a local restaurant, and he had been asking me to make it at home every since. Well I am happy I came across this recipe. They loved it! I did add some sweet whole kernel corn and mushrooms to it though! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Saint Louis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great comforting soup! Added corn and spicy tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Minor changes, this will get made many more times. Followed suggestions in some of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westmoreland, Kansas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yummy! So easy to make, but very satisfying! I doubled the recipe and added 2 small cans of hominy. I also used crushed tomatoes and 2 cans of rotel with peppers and cilantro, and 1 hot pepper (not sure what kind). Was awesome, but could definitely use more heat to taste, and more hominy. I will double the amount of hominy next time. Sliced radishes, green onions, olives, cheese, tortillas, and limes were used as garnish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ocnkrs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Made it for a family get-together and I had people asking me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Griffith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Just a few changes.... * Before starting the soup, I cut some fresh corn tortillas into strips, fried them, and set aside. * Added a diced quarter of a chile serano to the garlic / onion / cilantro mix. * Instead of the canned tomatoes, I used diced yellow pear (cherry) tomatoes from the over-producing plant in my garden. * Instead of the chili powder, I used "Tajin" salsa en polvo from my local Mexican market. * As for chicken, I used some "leftover" breast meat from a beer-butt chicken (look for the recipe -- really good) that I had previously bbq'ed. * At serving time, I cut in a fresh avocado, and crumbled in the fried tortilla chips I had prepared earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
DELICIOUS!! It is a rich, satisfying soup with deep flavor! My husband asked me to add this to our regular soup recipes! I agree with LisaPK71 and RICA. Use A LOT less oil. I added a can of black beans for texture and flavor. For the garnish, I fried strips of left-over tortillas and topped the bowl of soup with a dap of guacamole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States