Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lia
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I'm not sure how the ORIGINAL recipe tastes, but with the modifications I made, this soup was pretty dang good. This is what I did differently: ADDED 1 stalk of celery, 1 (8 oz.) can tomato sauce, and 1 can corn. SUBSTITUTED 1 (4 oz.) can jalapenos for cayenne (because I had forgotten that I ran out of cayenne). REDUCED oil from 6 tablespoons to 2 tablespoons, tortillas from 6 to 3 (you need it to thicken the soup), cumin (from 2 tablespoons to 1 tablespoon), and chili powder from 1 tablespoon to 1.5 teaspoons. GARNISHED with crispy tortilla strips and sour cream. I also kept the soup boiling (stirring frequently to avoid burning) for the 30 minutes it was supposed to be simmering to cook out some of the liquid. Next time I make it, I will either use fresh jalapenos or a teaspoon of pepper flakes, add the cilantro with the chicken, the whole tablespoon of chili powder, and I won't forget the lime. I love lime...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Very good soup! My family loves it! Sometimes I add a can of black beans or pinto beans & cut back on the chicken. It's more budget freindly, and we already eat a lot of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is fantastic! A few things I did different: did not get to use the tortillas in the beginning of recipe, and I used dry cilantro instead of fresh because that is all I had. I put in the crockpot for 8 hours on low and and threw in some cooked rice in the last 30 minutes. I did throw in some lime juice at the end over the soup, about 1 tablespoon. I really think this brightened it up. Even added a little extra on each bowl. Topped with cheese, crushed chips and sour cream. This was hands down the best soup recipe I have made. The flavor was tremendous after cooking for at least 8 hours in the slow cooker. The next day was even better, it reminded me of Qdoba's Mexican Gumbo with the added rice. If I do not use rice the next time, I will make sure I use the corn tortillas in the beginning of the recipe. From reading multiple reviews, the corn tortillas act as a thickening agent. But, the rice was fantastic so that is how I will most likely make this from here out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Don't let the simplicity of this recipe discourage you - it is absolutely incredible. I have never tried the rotisserie method, but hope to soon. I normall boil my chicken, let it cool, then shred it as others have mentioned. Very IMPORTANT, I advise not to add all the oil or the tortillas in the beginning. This will turn your soup mushy and make it way too oily. Fry/bake your tortilla strips separate and add at the end - will be glad you did. All the oil that is needed is a Tbsp or two at the start for the cilantro/onions/garlic - that's it. I also had a can of corn to mine, and kick up the portion of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mulligan69

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I have made this several times and it always turns out great! One thing I wanted to point out is that you need to use soft corn tortillas (as opposed to tortilla shells or chips). These will break down and thicken the soup if you cook it long enough so I would strongly recommend you not skip this step! My changes: I always add 2 cans of black beans and a bell pepper to make it more of a chili. Also, try shredding the chicken. Instead of cooking just a half hour, I let it simmer for about 1 1/5 hours. You can also use a hand blender to break down the tortillas if they still are not disintigrated enough for you. Serve with avocado, shredded cheese, fresh cilantro, tortilla chips and sour cream. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Loved this recipe. I added a little extra chilli pepper. I like spicy food. I also added half a cup of corn and half cup of garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This soup was incredible, really amazing. I didn't use the tortillas, but did add basmati rice while it was cooking. Added some Cholula hot sauce to my individual bowl as well as a small dollop of sour cream. So, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Looking for a low fat but flavorful soup so I tried this and was not disappointed. Everyone loved it so much I'll have to double next time. I had to use crushed tomato (all I had) and cooked the chicken in the garlic and onion along with store bought tortillas (saved time), added a can of black beans and fiesta corn and enjoyed tremendously. Thanks to Trey for sharing a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FWIRISHGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I've been looking for a tortilla soup recipe where the tortillas are cooked right into the soup instead of just used as a garnish at the end. This was it. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of breasts and cooked them in the soup instead of adding cooked chicken at the end. I tossed in a packet of Sazon just for the heck of it and this soup came out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States