Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I have tried this recipe multiple times and I only changed a few things. First off with food prices being so incredible lately I got chicken thighs on sale for about 3 bucks. I just seared them in the pan and tossed them into the stock with the rest of the ingredients. I then added a can of black beans and a can of hominy to offset the fact that I didn't have much protein to begin with. I let the whole thing simmer for about 2 hours (to cook the chicken) it shredded nicely and had a delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Alcenius

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This soup was fabulous. Great recipe. I too did it with a rotisserie chicken. Also added some corn and a can of black beans. For the tomatoes I used one 16 oz can of tomatoes and make then used 1 container of Jacks special salsa. made it great. Took some to a neighbor and she said the best soup she ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This is a great recipe! I made some changes though. I added chiles, sliced water chestnuts and a few diced green peppers. I omitted the cheyenne pepper because I didn't have any. I also cooked this in the crockpot for about 2 hours. I cut strips of soft tortilla shells and added some to the soup to thicken. I did continue to cut strips of soft tortilla shells and bake them at 300 to add later on if wanted. I too added a shredded mexican cheese blend during and after cooking. I'll be keeping this recipe handy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Saw the reviews and had to try it. So easy and spicy enough to make your nose run. I added a can of drained whole kernal corn and a can of rinsed black beans to it. I also browned & salted some sliced up corn tortillas to put on top. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This is a great tortilla soup recipe. I use less chicken, and add chopped green chillies, it is consistently delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I thought this was very good. I didn't have bay leaves or cayenne, so I had to leave those out. After looking at the reviews, I decided not to make my own chips and just put in some crushed tortilla chips I had. As a result, I also eliminated the oil. Also added corn, put in less chicken than it called for, and topped with more tortilla chips for a crunch when served. This is very filling! I think there is too much chicken in the recipe; even the amount I put in was too much for me. I didn't think it was spicy, but that is probably because I left out the cayenne. I'll make it again with even less chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is soo good!! I only used 2-3 T oil. I also only used 5 cups chicken stock since I only used 4 chicken breasts. May add a few black beans also next time. So healthy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I thought this was great. I did make a couple changes. Cut the chicken broth down to 5 cups. I also added 2 fresh jalapenos to the onion/garlic/tortilla mixture, and cooked that a lot longer, until soft - then pureed it before adding the tomatoes. Got rave reviews! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigidoll74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
excellent flavor the family loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Fantastic! I only added about 1 lb. of chicken and it was plenty. Garnish with avocado, shredded cheese and sour cream and you have perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States