Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I thought this was very good, but did add some things to the recipe. I added 1 cup of corn and 1 can (drained) of black beans. I omitted the tortillas from the prep/cooking, and instead served the soup with crumbled tortilla chips, grated cheddar cheese, and a dollop of sour cream on top. I sauteed the onions, garlic and cilantro with some oil, and then combined all ingredients in a slow cooker, and cooked on AUTO setting for about 4 hours. Tasty soup, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I was really suprised by this recipe. I usually don't finish soups, but my husband and I were licking the bottom of the bowls. We added black beans and corn, used only 3-4T of oil, and added crispy tortillas on top. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I have tried this recipe multiple times and I only changed a few things. First off with food prices being so incredible lately I got chicken thighs on sale for about 3 bucks. I just seared them in the pan and tossed them into the stock with the rest of the ingredients. I then added a can of black beans and a can of hominy to offset the fact that I didn't have much protein to begin with. I let the whole thing simmer for about 2 hours (to cook the chicken) it shredded nicely and had a delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Alcenius

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This soup was fabulous. Great recipe. I too did it with a rotisserie chicken. Also added some corn and a can of black beans. For the tomatoes I used one 16 oz can of tomatoes and make then used 1 container of Jacks special salsa. made it great. Took some to a neighbor and she said the best soup she ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This is a great recipe! I made some changes though. I added chiles, sliced water chestnuts and a few diced green peppers. I omitted the cheyenne pepper because I didn't have any. I also cooked this in the crockpot for about 2 hours. I cut strips of soft tortilla shells and added some to the soup to thicken. I did continue to cut strips of soft tortilla shells and bake them at 300 to add later on if wanted. I too added a shredded mexican cheese blend during and after cooking. I'll be keeping this recipe handy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Saw the reviews and had to try it. So easy and spicy enough to make your nose run. I added a can of drained whole kernal corn and a can of rinsed black beans to it. I also browned & salted some sliced up corn tortillas to put on top. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This is a great tortilla soup recipe. I use less chicken, and add chopped green chillies, it is consistently delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I thought this was very good. I didn't have bay leaves or cayenne, so I had to leave those out. After looking at the reviews, I decided not to make my own chips and just put in some crushed tortilla chips I had. As a result, I also eliminated the oil. Also added corn, put in less chicken than it called for, and topped with more tortilla chips for a crunch when served. This is very filling! I think there is too much chicken in the recipe; even the amount I put in was too much for me. I didn't think it was spicy, but that is probably because I left out the cayenne. I'll make it again with even less chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is soo good!! I only used 2-3 T oil. I also only used 5 cups chicken stock since I only used 4 chicken breasts. May add a few black beans also next time. So healthy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I thought this was great. I did make a couple changes. Cut the chicken broth down to 5 cups. I also added 2 fresh jalapenos to the onion/garlic/tortilla mixture, and cooked that a lot longer, until soft - then pureed it before adding the tomatoes. Got rave reviews! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Collins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States