Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I've made this recipe twice and both times it was delicious! My family loved it...so I made it for my coworkers. It got rave reviews. I highly recommend this recipe!! DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Excellent. I added corn and black beans to the recipe. Got many compliments and requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSSICALYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
A great recipe- that can actually be made better! I added a can of chopped green chilies and used a cup and a half of salsa instead of tomatoes- way more flavor! Also- I cut the oil down as did many others. The best way to thicken this is to add a can of cream soup- whatever flavor you like- and then use a hand blender to blend everything together before you add the chicken. The corn tortillas will puree and make the soup have the perfect consistency! Don't forget to remove bay leaves prior to blending. And be sure to top with monterey jack cheese, crunchy tortilla strips, sour cream and a sqeeze of fresh lime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This soup is great. I do everything that the recipe says, but I also add cooked rice, black beans, and a little lime juice/zest. It's more hearty this way. I also added corn once but I prefer it without it. When I eat it, I top it with sour cream, shredded cheddar, and some crushed corn tortillas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I thought this was very good, but did add some things to the recipe. I added 1 cup of corn and 1 can (drained) of black beans. I omitted the tortillas from the prep/cooking, and instead served the soup with crumbled tortilla chips, grated cheddar cheese, and a dollop of sour cream on top. I sauteed the onions, garlic and cilantro with some oil, and then combined all ingredients in a slow cooker, and cooked on AUTO setting for about 4 hours. Tasty soup, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I was really suprised by this recipe. I usually don't finish soups, but my husband and I were licking the bottom of the bowls. We added black beans and corn, used only 3-4T of oil, and added crispy tortillas on top. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I have tried this recipe multiple times and I only changed a few things. First off with food prices being so incredible lately I got chicken thighs on sale for about 3 bucks. I just seared them in the pan and tossed them into the stock with the rest of the ingredients. I then added a can of black beans and a can of hominy to offset the fact that I didn't have much protein to begin with. I let the whole thing simmer for about 2 hours (to cook the chicken) it shredded nicely and had a delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Alcenius

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This soup was fabulous. Great recipe. I too did it with a rotisserie chicken. Also added some corn and a can of black beans. For the tomatoes I used one 16 oz can of tomatoes and make then used 1 container of Jacks special salsa. made it great. Took some to a neighbor and she said the best soup she ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This is a great recipe! I made some changes though. I added chiles, sliced water chestnuts and a few diced green peppers. I omitted the cheyenne pepper because I didn't have any. I also cooked this in the crockpot for about 2 hours. I cut strips of soft tortilla shells and added some to the soup to thicken. I did continue to cut strips of soft tortilla shells and bake them at 300 to add later on if wanted. I too added a shredded mexican cheese blend during and after cooking. I'll be keeping this recipe handy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States