Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was flavorful and delicious! I only made a few minor additions/changes. I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of just diced tomatoes. I also cut up a rotisserie chicken and added that to the soup and then simmered it for 30 minutes. I also added some garlic powder to this for more flavor. I didn't saute corn tortillas at the beginning because I like serving them at the end with tortilla chips and for people to add as much as they please. Great recipe and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I took the hints from others and upped the cheese to 12oz and cut the chicken broth by half. Also, i use 2 cans of cream of chicken AND mushroom, instead of one of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was very good. I also added frozen corn and some black beans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Has become a family favorite! I add a can of black beans to up the protein and add a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEGYPSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed it, never having had tortilla soup before we both were pleasantly surprised. It was easy to make, very flavorful and wonderful served with cheese, sour cream and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Yummy on a cold day! I did a couple things differently. I, like another reviewer, tossed the chicken with the spices then cooked it. I also added 1 can of 'fiesta corn' and 1 can of northern white beans. I agree with the other reviewer that 1/2 the oil is plenty (I also used olive oil instead). I would like to prevent the mooshiness of the tortillas in the soup and may try the chip instead or put them in at the end next time. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very yummy soup - I will definately make it again. I added fresh lime juice and chick peas. Really tasty - even my four year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe was GREAT! I only put in half of the oil and used rotisserie chicken from the store to make it easier. It was soooo good. We topped each bowl with a dallop of sour cream, a little cheese and crumbed tortilla chips. It was delicious! We will make it many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETH808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Excellent recipe! I used 3tbs of oil insted of 6, used a pizza slicer to cut tortilla strips then cut them in half length, served the soup with the following as condiments: avacado slices, tortilla chips, sour cream, grated cheddar, salsa and tabasco sauce. - ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Followed recipe exactly. Tasted awesome! Easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States