Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is my favorite soup! I usually add extra broth, extra garlic and frozen corn. I freeze leftovers in individual containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
great soup, just what I was looking for. The husband and kids loved it. Made great left overs. The only thing I did not do was add the tortillas in the begining. I used the tortilla strips crushed on top. Also added sour cream avacado & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by time2eat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Good start for a soup. I have made this a few times and find it still needs a bit more flavor. I tried adding both green chilies and black beans or pinto beans and It hit the spot for me. As for the tortillas, after reading various reviews I decided to fry them and set aside. I added half of them in 10 min before serving (for some texture) and served the other half crispy on top. Save yourself some time and buy tortilla chips at the store. Good stuff though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
AWESOME! ANd even better the second day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This soup was great! I took the tortillas first and stacked them and sliced thin strips out of half, Then chop the other half real good. In the oil first fry the strips till crisp and drain on paper towel and save for the end. Then I followed the recipe and added the crisp tortillas at the end and it was just like Mexico. Oh I added half Rotel and half diced tomatos, gave it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was flavorful and delicious! I only made a few minor additions/changes. I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of just diced tomatoes. I also cut up a rotisserie chicken and added that to the soup and then simmered it for 30 minutes. I also added some garlic powder to this for more flavor. I didn't saute corn tortillas at the beginning because I like serving them at the end with tortilla chips and for people to add as much as they please. Great recipe and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I took the hints from others and upped the cheese to 12oz and cut the chicken broth by half. Also, i use 2 cans of cream of chicken AND mushroom, instead of one of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was very good. I also added frozen corn and some black beans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Has become a family favorite! I add a can of black beans to up the protein and add a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEGYPSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed it, never having had tortilla soup before we both were pleasantly surprised. It was easy to make, very flavorful and wonderful served with cheese, sour cream and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States