Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I think this has a great base but had to make too many changes to say this is soup is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I would give this recipe 4 stars! I changed a few things. The first time I prepared it it turned out perfectly. The only thing I changed was decreasing the amount of chicken broth from 6 cups to 4 1/2 cups. I would recommend this to any friend or family member.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very simple and easy to make. I used fresh tomatoes rather than canned, and added corn and red sweet pepper. I skipped the veg oil and baked my tortilla pieces. Used olive oil spray to saute garlic/onions. I added the tortilla pieces to the bottom of the soup bowl after cooking rather than cooking them in the soup and it turned out fine. garnished with fresh cilantro, some of the tortilla pieces and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
best soup ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cchellez
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe until the end. I added a splash of cream to give it a lighter color as I added in the chicken and heated it through. I paired mine up with a garnish of 2 Tostitos Hint of Lime chips and a dollop of sour cream. My husband loved and we had enough to take for lunch the next day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchellez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sandston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I actually was very disappointed with this recipe. I was expecting something so very spectacular since I had read so many amazing reviews, but I found that it left a lot to be desired. First of all, many people said to decrease the oil. I didn't find that to be true and my soup was NOT oily. Secondly, the recipe says to saute the onion, garlic, and tortillas together for 2 - 3 minutes. Well that certainly was not long enough and because of that the onions were crunchy. I imagine they are supposed to be that way but I didn't care for it at all. It made the soup a bit bitter. Secondly, there were no veggies other than the canned tomatoes and onions which made the soup bland. However, I did add a can of corn which did little for the soup as far as flavor goes. I had to increase the amount of tortillas since I like my soup with more tortillas. Like one reviewer did,I added cream to the mixture since I don't care for brothy types of soups as much as creamy soups. I don't know what all the rave was about. On top of that, since the reviews were so great I doubled the recipe. Now I have double the amount of soup that I am not so crazy about. We did add lime and cheddar cheese on top of our individual servings which added more flavor. All in all I was sorely disappointed. I am going to freeze most of this and maybe I'll enjoy it better at another point in time. Cheese should be made part of the recipe as well as, perhaps, black beans or what one enjoys, to add more dimension to this r
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenBee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This is by far the best chicken tortilla soup I have ever had.. I have made it numerous times for family and they always want the recipe. The one and only thing I changed was the can of tomatoes. I had a can of the "mexican tomatoes" with lime juice and green chilies and I used that instead. Thank you so much for sharing such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My Mexican friend thought I couldn't cook Mexican food, until I cooked him this soup - he loved it. Actually all my friends tell me it's their new favorite soup. I usually put in less salt and more bay leaves and that's perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
A very tasty soup. A little kick from the cayenne pepper but I like it. The only changes I made were, I didn't have cilantro, plus my fiance doesn't like it. I also added some corn and some black beans, and used dark meat instead of breasts. Other than that, I followed the seasonings that the recipe called for. Very yummy especially on a cold fall day in Ohio! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYEE
Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I took all the advice from others' reviews and it turned out delicious!! First of all, i only used 2 tbsp. of oil. I also added a can of corn as well as a can of black beans. And instead of 6 cups of chicken stock, I used 5 cups of stock and 1 cup of milk. I love this recipe and look forward to passing it on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States